Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

18v vs 20v Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?

18v and 20v cordless chainsaws compared on bar length, battery platform, chain speed and weight, with the examples and a verdict for each side.

18v vs 20v Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1SEESII Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch BrushlessSEESII Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch Brushless9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WORX Cordless ChainsawWORX Cordless Chainsaw9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Mini Chainsaw Compatible for Milwaukee M18 18V BatteryMini Chainsaw Compatible for Milwaukee M18 18V Battery9.5/10View on Amazon

Verdict: Choose an 18v chainsaw if you already own 18v batteries for that platform and want the larger bar in this set. Choose a 20v chainsaw if you already own 20v batteries and want the smaller trimming bars in this set.

Fall cutting fills the woodpile. This 18v vs 20v chainsaw comparison weighs what each listing actually states, including what it leaves unstated.

FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Makita XCU11Z 18V LXT® Lithium-Ion Brushless

Makita XCU11Z 18V LXT® Lithium-Ion Brushless

Makita9.6/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14-inch brushless cordless chainsaw for Makita 18V LXT batteries, sold as tool only, with a rear handle and a bar cover.

Pros

  • 14-inch bar, the largest among the examples
  • Brushless motor, stated 1,520 FPM figure
  • 3-year limited warranty stated in the listing
  • Bar cover included in the box

Cons

  • Sold as tool only, with no battery or charger included
  • No auto oiler stated in the listing
  • No chain brake stated in the listing
  • No gloves or goggles in the stated box contents
12" Brushless Cordless Chainsaw

12" Brushless Cordless Chainsaw

FXAFXA9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-inch brushless cordless chainsaw for DeWalt 20V and 60V batteries, sold as tool only, with an auto oiler and a safety lock.

Pros

  • Auto oiler with a pure copper oil pump stated
  • Safety lock stated to prevent accidental starts
  • Tool-free chain tension adjustment with a double nut design
  • Kit: storage bag, gloves, 2 chains of 12 inches, protective cover

Cons

  • Bullets state 1000W while the spec table states 1200 watts
  • Bullets state 5 lbs while the spec table states 3.7 pounds
  • Sold as tool only, with no battery or charger included
  • Warranty term stated as 1 year, shorter than the Makita example
Mini Chainsaw Compatible for Milwaukee M18 18V

Mini Chainsaw Compatible for Milwaukee M18 18V

Krodrch9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-inch brushless cordless chainsaw for Milwaukee M18 18V batteries, sold as tool only, with an auto oiler and a security lock.

Pros

  • Auto oiler and security lock stated
  • 1000W pure copper motor with a stated 45 ft/s chain speed
  • Listing states assembly in 5 minutes with no screwdriver needed
  • 65 Mn steel chain stated for clean and smooth cuts

Cons

  • Sold as tool only, with no battery included
  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • No weight stated in the listing
  • Listing also names bamboo and poly pipes alongside wood
Mini Chainsaw Cordless for Dewalt Battery 20V MAX

Mini Chainsaw Cordless for Dewalt Battery 20V MAX

waitiey9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A cordless mini chainsaw for DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, sold as tool only, with 8-inch and 6-inch bars, an auto oiler and a battery level indicator.

Pros

  • 8-inch and 6-inch bars in the same kit for versatile cutting
  • Auto oiler stated
  • Tool-free chain tensioner stated
  • Battery level indicator stated for remaining battery life

Cons

  • Sold as tool only, with no battery included
  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • No chain speed stated in the listing
  • Weight stated only as 2.51 kg, not in pounds

Side by side

Saw Woodlot Score Side Bar Weight Warranty
Makita XCU11Z 14in 9.6/10 18v 14 inches 10 pounds 3-year limited warranty
FXAFXA 12in Chainsaw 9.5/10 20v 12 inches 5 pounds 1 year
Krodrch 12in Mini Saw 9.5/10 18v 12 inches Not stated Not stated
waitiey 8in 6in Saw 9.4/10 20v 8 inches and 6 inches 2.51 kg Not stated

Figures are as stated in each listing; a figure from one listing describes that listing only.

25 October 2026

18v vs 20v chainsaw: bar length

Bar length does not follow voltage in this set. The 18v examples carry bars of 14 inches and 12 inches. The 20v examples carry bars of 12 inches, 8 inches and 6 inches. The largest bar sits on the 18v side, while the smallest bars sit on the 20v side. That is a comparison of these examples, not a rule about voltage.

Battery platform and tool-only status

Every example here is sold as tool only, with no battery or charger included. The Makita example fits Makita 18V LXT batteries, the Krodrch example fits Milwaukee M18 18V batteries, the waitiey example fits DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, and the FXAFXA example fits DeWalt 20V and 60V batteries. No listing states cross-platform use, so pick the side that matches batteries already in the shed.

Chain speed and cutting claims

Chain speed is stated in different units across the listings, so this article does not rank the examples on speed. The Makita listing pairs its 1,520 FPM figure with torque wording rather than calling it chain speed, so it is reported here as stated and not ranked against the chain speeds. The Krodrch listing states 45 ft/s, and the FXAFXA listing states 13 m/s, while the waitiey listing states no chain speed. The Krodrch listing states that its saw cuts 12-inch branches in 5 to 10 seconds, as the maker’s claim.

Weight and handling

Weight is stated in pounds for the Makita and FXAFXA examples, in kilograms for the waitiey example, and not at all for the Krodrch example. The Makita example weighs 10 pounds. The FXAFXA bullets state 5 pounds, with the spec table stating 3.7 pounds. The waitiey example weighs 2.51 kg, stated only in kilograms, so it does not compare directly with the pound figures. None of the listings states a chain brake.

The examples

How we scored them

Each example is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Makita XCU11Z 14in 9.6 30 21 20 0 4
FXAFXA 12in Chainsaw 9.5 29 20 20 3 2
Krodrch 12in Mini Saw 9.5 28 19 20 3 0
waitiey 8in 6in Saw 9.4 27 19 19 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Chainsaw safety

Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Around the Woodpile

  • Wear chaps, a helmet with a face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots, and avoid cutting alone where possible.
  • Keep the bar cover on the Makita example during storage.
  • Use the gloves and goggles included with the waitiey example, and the gloves included with the FXAFXA example.
  • Check the chain oil on the examples that state an auto oiler.
  • Store the spare 12-inch chains from the FXAFXA example in its storage bag.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is an 18v or 20v chainsaw better for firewood?

Neither in general. Bar length and platform matter more here: the 18v side holds the 14-inch Makita example, while the 20v side holds the 12-inch FXAFXA example and the smaller waitiey bars. Pick the platform you already own batteries for.

Do these chainsaws come with a battery?

No. All listings state tool only, with no battery or charger included, so a matching battery from the stated platform is needed before the saw runs.

What bar length should I pick for firewood?

A longer bar covers larger rounds in a single pass, while a shorter bar suits trimming. The examples span 14 inches, 12 inches, 8 inches and 6 inches.

Why do the listings state chain speed in different units?

Each maker states speed its own way: 1,520 FPM on the Makita listing, 45 ft/s on the Krodrch listing, 13 m/s on the FXAFXA listing, and no chain speed on the waitiey listing. Each figure is reported as stated and the saws are not ranked on speed.

Can a 20v chainsaw run on an 18v battery?

Not on these listings. Each listing names its own platform, Makita 18V LXT, Milwaukee M18 18V, or DeWalt 20V MAX, and none states compatibility with another maker’s batteries. The FXAFXA listing states DeWalt 20V and 60V batteries, still within that maker’s platform.

See the battery chainsaw category, the best 12 inch battery chainsaw, the mini chainsaw vs pruning saw and the chainsaw safety gear checklist.

More buying guides