Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best 12 Inch Battery Chainsaw (2026)

Five 12-inch battery chainsaws for firewood compared by battery, chain speed, weight, chain brake and warranty, with listing contradictions noted.

Best 12 Inch Battery Chainsaw (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Seesii 12in BatteryBest OverallSeesii 12in Battery9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Greenworks 24V 12inBest Known BrandGreenworks 24V 12in9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3TEEANEES 12inMost ChainsTEEANEES 12in9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4PBUO 12in Pole SawBest for High BranchesPBUO 12in Pole Saw9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Tietoc Mini Chainsaw 6-Inch with 2 BatteriesTietoc Mini Chainsaw 6-Inch with 2 BatteriesView on Amazon
  6. 6SEESII 2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saws & Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch forSEESII 2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saws & Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch forView on Amazon
  7. 7SEESII 4-in-1 Cordless 8 Inch Pole Chainsaw & Leaf BlowerSEESII 4-in-1 Cordless 8 Inch Pole Chainsaw & Leaf BlowerView on Amazon
  8. 8CEEPUY Mini Chainsaw CordlessCEEPUY Mini Chainsaw CordlessView on Amazon
  9. 92-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw2-in-1 Cordless Pole SawView on Amazon

The woodpile for next winter starts now, with rounds to buck and limbs to trim before the splitting begins. The question is the best 12 inch battery chainsaw: which cordless saw cuts firewood without the gas can. This guide compares five 12-inch battery saws by bar, battery, chain speed, weight, chain brake and warranty, and every number below comes from the listings. A 12-inch bar suits limbs, pruning and small rounds; it is the homeowner end of the chainsaw range, not the felling end.

FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Seesii 12in Battery: 1200W brushless, two 4.0Ah batteries, chain brake and a 3-year warranty in a full kit. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Known Brand Greenworks 24V 12in: 24V brushless with auto oiler, tool-free tensioning and a 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Chains TEEANEES 12in: Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and four chains with an auto oiler. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for High Branches PBUO 12in Pole Saw: Converts to a pole saw reaching 3.3 ft, with two batteries and four chains. Check price on Amazon

The picks

SEESII Battery Chainsaw Cordless 12-inch

SEESII Battery Chainsaw Cordless 12-inch

Seesii9.7/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12 in battery chainsaw with a 1200W brushless motor, two 4.0Ah batteries, auto oiler, chain brake and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 1200W brushless motor, 12 m/s chain speed (stated)
  • Two 4.0Ah batteries; over 50 minutes working time (stated)
  • Chain brake and safety lock stated
  • 3-year warranty; gloves, goggles, spare chain and oil bottle included

Cons

  • Bullets say 12 m/s (39 ft/s); table says 34.8 ft/s
  • 7.8 lb with one battery
  • UK plug charger in the box
  • Chain tensioning needs the included screwdriver
Greenworks 24V 12 in Cordless Electric Chainsaw

Greenworks 24V 12 in Cordless Electric Chainsaw

Greenworks9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 24V 12 in battery chainsaw with a 4.0Ah battery, brushless motor, auto oiler, tool-free tensioning and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • Brushless motor, 24V with 4.0Ah battery
  • Auto oiler and tool-free chain tensioning
  • Push-button start, no fuel mixing
  • 3-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Spec table says 'tool only' against battery and charger in the title
  • Title claims 'Dual Battery, 48V Output' on a 24V saw
  • No chain brake stated
  • No chain speed stated
12" Electric Chainsaw Cordless with 2x4.0Ah

12" Electric Chainsaw Cordless with 2x4.0Ah

TEEANEES9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12 in battery chainsaw with a 1200W brushless motor, two 21V 4.0Ah batteries, auto oiler, safety lock and four chains.

Pros

  • 1200W brushless motor
  • Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries with LED level display
  • Four chains in the box
  • Auto oiler and safety lock stated

Cons

  • Bullets say 14 m/s; table says 19.69 ft/s
  • No warranty term stated
  • No chain brake stated
  • No weight stated
CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Cordless Chainsaw

CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Cordless Chainsaw

CRAFTSMAN9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V MAX 12 in battery chainsaw with a 5.0Ah battery, brushless motor, auto-oiling and up to 105 cuts per charge (stated).

Pros

  • 5.0Ah battery, the largest here
  • Up to 105 cuts per charge (stated)
  • Brushless motor, auto-oiling
  • Bolt-lock chain tensioning

Cons

  • 8.5 lb tool only, heaviest working weight here
  • No warranty term stated
  • No chain brake stated
  • 10 in cut capacity on a 12 in bar
12" Cordless Brushless Electric Chainsaw (Yellow)

12" Cordless Brushless Electric Chainsaw (Yellow)

PBUO9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12 in battery chainsaw that doubles as a telescoping pole saw, with two 21V 4.0Ah batteries, four chains and a 3.5 lb stated weight.

Pros

  • Telescoping handle extends to 3.3 ft
  • Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and four chains
  • 3.5 lb stated weight, lightest here
  • Up to 180 minutes runtime (stated)

Cons

  • Bullets say 3.5 lb; table says 3.3 lb
  • Table claims 4000 hp, which is not credible
  • No chain brake stated
  • No warranty term stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Woodlot Score Bar Battery Chain speed (stated) Weight (listed) Chain brake Warranty (stated)
Seesii 12in Battery 9.7/10 12 in 2 x 4.0Ah 12 m/s (39 ft/s) bullets; 34.8 ft/s table 7.8 lb (one battery) Stated 3 years
Greenworks 24V 12in 9.5/10 12 in 4.0Ah, 24V Not stated 3.7 kg Not stated 3 years
TEEANEES 12in 9.5/10 12 in 2 x 4.0Ah, 21V 14 m/s bullets; 19.69 ft/s table Not stated Safety lock only Not stated
CRAFTSMAN V20 12in 9.4/10 12 in (10 in cut) 5.0Ah, 20V MAX 6.7 m/s 8.5 lb tool only Not stated Not stated
PBUO 12in Pole Saw 9.4/10 12 in 2 x 4.0Ah, 21V 46 ft/s no-load 3.5 lb bullets; 3.3 lb table Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 21 October 2026. Weights are as listed and may or may not include the battery. Two of these listings state a warranty term.

How we scored them

Each saw is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Chain brakes and stated warranties earn their points; contradictions between a title and its spec table cost.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Seesii 12in Battery 9.7 30 21 20 7 3
Greenworks 24V 12in 9.5 28 20 19 0 3
TEEANEES 12in 9.5 28 20 21 3 0
CRAFTSMAN V20 12in 9.4 29 20 20 0 0
PBUO 12in Pole Saw 9.4 27 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Best 12 inch battery chainsaw: buying guide

Battery and runtime

Three saws here ship two 4.0Ah batteries: the Seesii, the TEEANEES and the PBUO. The Seesii claims over 50 minutes of working time and up to 120 cuts through 4×4 inch wood; the PBUO claims up to 180 minutes. The CRAFTSMAN ships one 5.0Ah battery and claims up to 105 cuts per charge. Treat runtime claims as maker figures for light wood, and note that only the Seesii and TEEANEES put a battery level display on the tool. Voltage tells you the platform, not the power: the Greenworks runs 24V, the CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX, and the TEEANEES and PBUO 21V. If you already own batteries on one of these lines, that decides the saw more than any spec line; buying into a second battery platform for one tool is the expensive way to cut wood.

Chain speed: read both figures

Two listings state two different chain speeds, so read carefully. The Seesii bullets say 12 m/s (39 ft/s) while its table says 34.8 ft/s; the TEEANEES bullets say 14 m/s while its table says 19.69 ft/s. The CRAFTSMAN states 6.7 m/s and the PBUO 46 ft/s no-load with no contradiction. Where a listing disagrees with itself, the title and bullets win. The Greenworks states no chain speed at all, which is a gap rather than a zero: judge it on battery and features instead.

Weight: check what it includes

Listed weights are not directly comparable. The Seesii states 7.8 lb with one battery installed, the CRAFTSMAN 8.5 lb tool only, and the Greenworks 3.7 kg with no note on what that covers. The PBUO states 3.5 lb in the bullets against 3.3 lb in its table. Compare like with like, and remember the battery is part of the working weight. If the saw lives on a shelf and comes down for storm cleanup, weight matters less than if it rides in the truck every weekend.

Chain brake

Only the Seesii states a chain brake, paired with a safety lock; the TEEANEES states a safety lock alone. The CRAFTSMAN, Greenworks and PBUO listings state neither. A brake stops the chain quickly, and it is the safety feature this scoring rewards. See gas vs battery chainsaw for the wider trade-offs.

What the box includes

Compare the boxes, not just the saws. The Seesii ships gloves, goggles, a spare chain, a bar cover, chain oil and a screwdriver; the TEEANEES and PBUO ship four chains each with canvas bags, gloves and goggles; the CRAFTSMAN ships a 1.25A charger, a bar sheath and a wrench; the Greenworks table says tool only. A spare chain and bar oil on day one beat a second trip to the store.

Chainsaw safety

Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Around the Woodpile

  • The Seesii kit includes gloves, goggles, a spare chain, a bar cover, chain oil and a screwdriver: keep them with the saw, not scattered across the shop.
  • The Seesii auto oiler holds 150 ml; check the level before each session since a dry bar wears fast.
  • Charge on the bench, not in the rain: the Seesii box includes a UK plug charger, so confirm the plug suits your outlets before buying.
  • The PBUO pole extends to 3.3 ft for high branches; collapse it for bucking at ground level.
  • Tension the chain the way each listing says: tool-free on the Greenworks, the included screwdriver on the Seesii, bolt-lock on the CRAFTSMAN.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a 12-inch battery chainsaw enough for firewood?

For limbs, pruning and small rounds, yes. The listings here aim at firewood, pruning and storm cleanup, with the CRAFTSMAN stating up to 105 cuts per charge and the Seesii up to 120 cuts through 4×4 inch wood. For big trunks, a longer bar earns its place.

How long does a battery chainsaw run?

The Seesii states over 50 minutes of working time on its two 4.0Ah batteries; the PBUO states up to 180 minutes on its two 4.0Ah batteries. Runtime depends on the wood and the cut, so treat these as maker figures for light work.

Do I need a chain brake?

The Seesii is the only listing here that states one, paired with a safety lock. A brake stops the chain quickly, and it is the safety feature this scoring rewards. Whatever saw you run, wear chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots, and never cut alone.

What does the auto oiler do?

It lubricates the bar and chain while you cut. The Seesii, Greenworks and TEEANEES list one; the Seesii oiler holds 150 ml and its kit includes a bottle of chain oil. You still check the level: the oiler only works if it has oil in it.

Can I cut overhead branches with these?

The PBUO converts to a pole saw reaching 3.3 ft, which is the one built for high branches without a ladder. For the other four, keep the work at a comfortable height and let the pole saw do the reaching.

See the best battery chainsaws for homeowners, gas vs battery chainsaw and brushless vs brushed chainsaw. Keep the chain cutting with the best chainsaw sharpener and a 12 inch chainsaw chain on the shelf.

More buying guides