Beech vs Maple Firewood: Which One Should You Buy?
Beech vs maple firewood: four firewood listings compared, with the one blend that states both beech and maple, ranked on stated specs.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
INNO STAGE Waxed Canvas Firewood Carrier Bag9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
AMAGABELI GARDEN & HOME 32in Large Firewood Rack Fireplace9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Fatwood Fire Starter Sticks 25lb Box9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
Smoak Firewood 12inch Length Premium Cooking Wood & FirewoodView on Amazon - 5
Smoak Firewood Cooking Wood LogsView on Amazon - 6
Wilson Maple Split FirewoodView on Amazon - 7
MESA Sticks: Kiln Dried Hardwood Firewood Oak Cherry MapleView on Amazon - 8
Smoak Firewood’s Cooking Wood ChunksView on Amazon - 9
Splitting AxeView on Amazon
The beech vs maple firewood question starts with an honest look at the listings. Only one of the four products here states both beech and maple: the Savory Blend, a mix of oaks, maples, black birch, beech and ash. The Wilson box lists maple as one of its species options. The other two are hickory and cherry, useful as benchmarks but not the species in the question. Below are the four listings, ranked by stated specs.
More options to compare
Smoak Firewood 12inch Length Premium Cooking Wood & FirewoodCheck price on Amazon
Smoak Firewood Cooking Wood LogsCheck price on Amazon
Wilson Maple Split FirewoodCheck price on Amazon
MESA Sticks: Kiln Dried Hardwood Firewood Oak Cherry MapleCheck price on Amazon
Smoak Firewood’s Cooking Wood ChunksCheck price on Amazon
Splitting AxeCheck price on Amazon
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
The four listings in this guide
| Product | Species stated | Weight | Moisture | Kiln dried |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Savory Blend 5 Inch | Oaks, maples, black birch, beech, ash (stated) | 14 lb (stated) | Less than 10% (stated) | Yes (stated) |
| Firewood Central Cherry | Cherry (stated) | Approx 38 lb (stated) | 15% or less (stated) | Yes (stated) |
| Wilson Split Firewood | Birch, maple, oak or cherry (stated) | 8.7 kg (stated) | Not stated | Yes (stated) |
| Old Potters Cooking Logs | Hickory (stated) | 18 lb (stated) | Not stated | Yes (stated) |
The Savory Blend leads because it is the only listing that states both species in the question. The listing states a blend of oaks, maples, black birch, beech and ash, kiln dried, stated to exceed USDA standards, delivered at less than 10 percent moisture content, in 5-inch pieces sized for grills, smokers and pizza ovens. The box is 14 lb with about 1000 cubic inches of wood. One contradiction to note: the spec table describes BBQ pellets with oak, hickory and cherry, while the title and bullets describe a firewood box of oaks, maples, black birch, beech and ash. We go with the title and bullets.
The other three are benchmarks. The Firewood Central cherry is a 38 lb bundle of 14 to 18 sixteen-inch splits, PDA-certified and dried to 15 percent moisture or less, from certified American forests processed in Myerstown, PA. The Wilson is a 16 by 12 by 8 inch box of kiln-dried split firewood, 1 to 3 inches in diameter at 8.7 kg, with maple among its stated species options. Note the spec table’s flavor field lists apple where the title lists birch; we go with the title’s species list. The Old Potters is 16 to 18 hickory logs at 8 by 2.5 inches, 1100 cubic inches, kiln dried and USDA certified, at 18 lb.
How to choose beech vs maple firewood
For beech vs maple firewood, buy the blend that states both. The Savory Blend is the only listing here that does, and it states the lowest moisture figure at less than 10 percent. If you want maple alone, the Wilson listing names maple as a species option, though it states no moisture figure. The cherry and hickory listings give you stated moisture and weight benchmarks: 15 percent or less for the cherry, 18 lb for the hickory box. All four listings state kiln drying, so dryness is not the differentiator; stated species and stated moisture are.
Piece size and what it fits
The listings state very different piece sizes, and size decides the appliance. The Savory Blend states 5-inch pieces that never exceed 5.25 inches, with widths from 0.75 to 1.75 inches, sized for grills, smokers and pizza ovens including Ooni, Solo and Bertello. The Old Potters states 8 by 2.5 inch logs that fit any grill, smoker or fire pit. The Firewood Central states 16-inch splits in 14 to 18 piece bundles. The Wilson states a 16 by 12 by 8 inch box of splits from 1 to 3 inches in diameter. Match the piece to the firebox: short pieces for pizza ovens, long splits for open pits.
What the listings state about burn quality
Each listing describes its burn in its own words. The Old Potters states the wood lights easily and burns hot with less smoke and ash than traditional firewood, serving as a natural source of charcoal. The Firewood Central states a hot, steady burn with low smoke, minimal ash and little popping. The Wilson states the kiln dry process creates a hotter burn with less smoke and prevents smoldering. The Savory Blend states high heat and an easy start. All four agree on the same theme: kiln drying is what makes the burn clean.
Certifications and sourcing
The Old Potters states USDA certified quality, inspected for safety and sanitation. The Firewood Central states PDA certification, sourcing from certified American forests and processing in Myerstown, PA. The Wilson states wood sustainably harvested in the upper peninsula of Michigan. The Savory Blend states kiln drying that exceeds USDA standards and plastic-free Kraft packaging sourced within New England. If sourcing matters to you, the Firewood Central and Savory Blend give the most detail.
Weight and volume of each box
The Firewood Central is the biggest load at about 38 lb of 16-inch splits. The Old Potters is 18 lb with 1100 cubic inches of wood in 16 to 18 logs. The Savory Blend is 14 lb with about 1000 cubic inches. The Wilson is 8.7 kg in a 16 by 12 by 8 inch box. For a weekend of grilling, one box of any of these covers it; for a season of heating, the per-pound math favors the larger bundles.
Wear eye protection and gloves for cutting, splitting and handling, follow every tool's manual, install stoves to code, and have the chimney inspected and cleaned every year. See EPA Burn Wise and NFPA heating safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which listing contains both beech and maple?
The Savory Blend, which states a mix of oaks, maples, black birch, beech and ash. None of the other three listings states beech.
Which listing offers maple on its own?
The Wilson Split Firewood, which lists maple among its species options of birch, maple, oak or cherry.
Which states the lowest moisture figure?
The Savory Blend at less than 10 percent moisture content. The Firewood Central cherry states 15 percent or less; the Wilson and Old Potters listings state no moisture figure.
Which is the biggest load?
The Firewood Central cherry at about 38 lb of 16-inch splits. The Old Potters is 18 lb, the Savory Blend is 14 lb, and the Wilson is 8.7 kg.
Are all four kiln dried?
Yes. All four listings state kiln drying: the Old Potters, Wilson, Firewood Central and Savory Blend.
Related: ash vs oak firewood, oak vs hickory firewood and red oak vs white oak firewood guides.



