20V vs 40V Pole Saw: Which One Should You Buy? (2026)
20V vs 40V pole saw: four listings compared on bar length, reach, chain speed, battery and warranty, two per side.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
WORX Cordless Chainsaw9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Greenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw Hedge Trimmer Kit9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
SKIL PWR CORE 40 Brushless 40V 10'' Pole Saw Kit with Over9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawView on Amazon - 5
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT 7/8 in. CordlessView on Amazon
Verdict: Pick a 40V pole saw for the stronger stated warranties: the Litheli example carries a 5-year tool warranty and the Hooyman example a limited lifetime warranty. Pick a 20V pole saw if you already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries: both 20V examples are built around that battery system, and the maXpeedingrods example reaches 15.7 ft.
A pole saw puts a chainsaw on the end of a pole so you can cut high branches without a ladder. The 20v vs 40v pole saw question is really a battery-platform question: 20V tools are lighter and share batteries with a huge tool family, while a 40V pack holds more energy than a 20V pack of the same amp-hours. We compared four listings, two per side, on what each one states: bar length, reach, chain speed, weight, battery and warranty.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Hooyman Cordless 40 Volt Pole Saw with In-Line 8in
A 40V pole saw with an 8 in in-line saw, 10 ft extended reach, auto-oiler and carry case, with a stated limited lifetime warranty.
Pros
- Limited lifetime warranty stated
- CE, ETL and UL certifications stated
- 10 ft extended, collapses to 48 in with carry case
- Auto-oiler with clear view window, per the listing
Cons
- 8 in bar is the smallest on the 40V side
- Weight contradicts: under 10 lb in bullets, 14 lb in spec table
- No chain speed is stated
- Tool-free chain tensioning not stated

Litheli Cordless Pole Saw,10-Inch 40V Pole Saws
A 40V pole saw with a 10 in bar, 16 ft/s chain speed and 2.5Ah battery and charger included, with a stated 5-year tool warranty.
Pros
- 10 in bar with stated 16 ft/s chain speed
- 5-year tool and 3-year battery warranty stated
- 2.5Ah battery and charger included
- Tool-free chain tensioning, per the listing
Cons
- 8.5 ft pole is the least reach here
- 8.3 lb, heavier than the stated 6.6 lb maXpeedingrods
- No safety certifications stated
- 40 cuts claim is the maker's figure

2-in-1 Cordless 10-Inch Pole Saw & Chainsaw
A 2-in-1 20V pole saw with a 10 in bar, 14.5 ft reach and brushless motor, with a 4.0Ah battery and charger included.
Pros
- 2-in-1: pole saw plus removable handheld chainsaw
- 10 in bar with brushless motor and auto-oiling
- 14.5 ft reach, per the listing
- 4.0Ah battery and charger included
Cons
- Only 12 months of after-sales service stated
- No chain speed is stated
- No weight is stated
- DeWalt battery compatibility, not a DeWalt tool

maXpeedingrods 4-In-1 Electric Pole Saws
A 4-in-1 20V pole saw with 6 and 8 in mini chainsaws, 15.7 ft reach and an 850W brushless motor; no battery is included.
Pros
- 15.7 ft reach, the longest here
- 850W brushless motor with stated 39.37 ft/s chain speed
- 4-in-1 with 6 and 8 in mini chainsaws
- Tool-free chain tensioning, per the listing
Cons
- No battery or charger is included
- No warranty is stated
- 6.6 lb is the saw alone; battery adds more
- DeWalt battery compatibility, not a DeWalt tool
More options to compare
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawCheck price on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT 7/8 in. CordlessCheck price on Amazon
Side by side: 20v vs 40v pole saw
| Factor | 20V pole saw | 40V pole saw |
|---|---|---|
| Example models | DOOYUTOOL 2-in-1, maXpeedingrods 4-in-1 | Litheli 10-in, Hooyman 8-in |
| Bar length | 10 in (DOOYUTOOL); 8 and 6 in (maXpeedingrods) | 10 in (Litheli); 8 in (Hooyman) |
| Reach (listed) | 14.5 ft (DOOYUTOOL); 15.7 ft (maXpeedingrods) | 8.5 ft (Litheli); 10 ft (Hooyman) |
| Chain speed (listed) | 39.37 ft/s (maXpeedingrods); not stated (DOOYUTOOL) | 16 ft/s (Litheli); not stated (Hooyman) |
| Battery included | 4.0Ah + charger (DOOYUTOOL); none (maXpeedingrods) | 2.5Ah + charger (Litheli); battery stated (Hooyman) |
| Weight (listed) | Not stated (DOOYUTOOL); 6.6 lb (maXpeedingrods) | 8.3 lb (Litheli); 10 lb vs 14 lb (Hooyman) |
| Warranty (stated) | 12-month service (DOOYUTOOL); none (maXpeedingrods) | 5-yr tool (Litheli); lifetime (Hooyman) |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026.
Voltage and the battery platform
The 20V examples are both built for the DeWalt 20V MAX battery system: the DOOYUTOOL and maXpeedingrods listings name a long list of compatible DeWalt battery models. The DOOYUTOOL ships a 4.0Ah battery and charger; the maXpeedingrods ships neither, so it only makes sense if you already own the batteries. The 40V examples ship their own batteries: the Litheli includes a 2.5Ah battery and charger, and the Hooyman listing states a 40V battery with a charge indicator. A 40V pack holds more energy than a 20V pack of the same amp-hours, which is the real advantage of the 40V side; the listings state no runtime figures to compare directly.
Bar length and what it cuts
Bar length runs 10 in on the DOOYUTOOL and Litheli, 8 in on the Hooyman, and 8 plus 6 in on the maXpeedingrods 4-in-1. The Litheli listing claims its 10 in bar cuts at 16 ft/s and handles up to 40 cuts on 4×4 lumber; the maXpeedingrods listing claims a 39.37 ft/s chain speed from its 850W brushless motor for branches 6 to 8 in thick. The DOOYUTOOL and Hooyman listings state no chain speed, so that factor stays unclear on those two. For pruning branches, all four bars are in the same class; the 10 in bars take the bigger limbs.
Reach
Reach is where the 20V examples lead: the maXpeedingrods extends to a 15.7 ft maximum reach and the DOOYUTOOL to 14.5 ft, both measured with a 6-foot user. The Hooyman extends to 10 ft and collapses to 48 in, and the Litheli pole extends to 8.5 ft. If the job is high branches, the 20V examples reach further; the 40V examples suit lower pruning. All four avoid the ladder, which is the point of a pole saw.
Weight
The maXpeedingrods lists 6.6 lb, the Litheli 8.3 lb, and the Hooyman under 10 lb in the bullets against 14 lb in the spec table, a contradiction inside that listing. The DOOYUTOOL listing states no weight. A pole saw gets heavy at full extension, so the lighter the better for overhead work; the listings give no balanced or extended weight figures, so the bare weights are all we have.
Oiling and chain tension
All four list automatic oiling: the DOOYUTOOL with a transparent tank, the maXpeedingrods with an independent oil feed and a transparent window, the Litheli with a 65 ml auto-oiler and a see-through window, and the Hooyman with an auto-oiler and clear view window. The maXpeedingrods and Litheli list tool-free chain tensioning, a real convenience on a pole saw; the other two listings do not state it.
Warranty
The 40V side wins on stated warranty: the Litheli lists a 5-year tool warranty with a 3-year battery and charger warranty, and the Hooyman lists a limited lifetime warranty. The DOOYUTOOL lists 12 months of after-sales service, and the maXpeedingrods listing states no warranty at all. For a tool that works hard overhead, the stated term is the concrete promise that separates the sides.
Two examples
How we scored them
Each pole saw is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Performance weighs bar length, chain speed where stated, and reach. The Hooyman is the only one of the four to state safety certifications, CE, ETL and UL, so it is the only one to score above zero on safety. Warranty only scores when the listing states a concrete term.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hooyman 40V | 9.5 | 26 | 21 | 19 | 3 | 3 |
| Litheli 40V | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| DOOYUTOOL 20V | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 1 |
| maXpeedingrods 20V | 9.4 | 29 | 21 | 16 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Turn a stack's length, height and depth into full and face cords, and estimate how much wood a winter takes.
Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 40V better than 20V for a pole saw?
A 40V pack holds more energy than a 20V pack of the same amp-hours, and the 40V examples here state the stronger warranties. But the 20V examples reach further and share the DeWalt 20V MAX battery system. Pick by battery platform and warranty, not voltage alone.
Can I use my DeWalt 20V batteries?
Both 20V examples list compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries by model number. The DOOYUTOOL ships a 4.0Ah battery and charger; the maXpeedingrods ships no battery, so you need your own.
What bar length do I need for pruning?
The examples run 6 to 10 in. A 10 in bar, as on the DOOYUTOOL and Litheli, takes bigger limbs; the 8 in Hooyman and the 6 and 8 in maXpeedingrods suit lighter pruning.
How far can a pole saw reach?
Per the listings, 15.7 ft on the maXpeedingrods and 14.5 ft on the DOOYUTOOL at the top end, 10 ft on the Hooyman and 8.5 ft on the Litheli. Reach is measured with a 6-foot user in the listings that state it.
Which of these state a warranty?
The Hooyman states a limited lifetime warranty, the Litheli a 5-year tool and 3-year battery warranty, and the DOOYUTOOL 12 months of after-sales service. The maXpeedingrods listing states none.
Related guides
- 20v vs 40v Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?
- Battery Chainsaw DeWalt vs Milwaukee: Which One Should You Buy?
- 40V vs 80V Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?
See our 20v vs 40v chainsaw comparison and the chainsaws hub.






