20v vs 40v Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?
20V and 40V chainsaws compared on bar length, cutting capacity, chain speed, batteries and safety, with two examples of each side from the listings we reviewed.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
WORX Cordless Chainsaw9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Greenworks 40V 16" Brushless Cordless Chainsaw9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
16" 40V Brushless Cordless Chainsaw for DeWALT 20V MAX9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawView on Amazon - 5
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT 7/8 in. CordlessView on Amazon
Verdict: Pick a 20V chainsaw if you prune branches, trim storm limbs and cut kindling around the yard, especially if you already own a 20V battery platform. Pick a 40V chainsaw if you cut bigger firewood rounds, want the longer bar, and want more stated safety features, including the chain brake on the SEYVUM example.
Fall is cutting season for most of us, and the question keeps coming up as the woodpile grows: in a 20v vs 40v chainsaw choice, does the voltage number tell you anything useful? From the listings we reviewed, the answer is mixed. The 40V examples do run longer bars and state more safety features, but three of the four are tool only and only the SEYVUM ships as a full kit, and neither side states every spec. What follows is how the two platforms differ, with two concrete examples from each side.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Greenworks 40V 12" Cordless Compact Chainsaw
A 40V 12 in cordless compact chainsaw with a low-kickback chain and hand guard, automatic oiler, tool-less tensioning and a stated 3 year warranty, sold as tool only.
Pros
- 3 year warranty stated
- Low-kickback safety chain with hand guard
- Automatic oiler and tool-less tensioning
- Compact 12 in bar suits pruning and storm cleanup
Cons
- Tool only; battery and charger not included
- Spec table lists just 1 hp
- Chain speed not stated
- Weight stated as 2.72 kg with no tool-only context

SEYVUM 40V 16 Inch Chainsaw Cordless Electric
A 40V 16 in brushless cordless chainsaw kit with two 4.0Ah batteries, a 2.4A dual port charger, auto oiler and an instant-stop chain brake the listing says stops within 0.2 seconds.
Pros
- Two 4.0Ah batteries and a 2.4A dual port charger included
- 16 in bar, the longest of the four examples
- Instant-stop chain brake, stops within 0.2 seconds per the listing
- Safety button plus switch two-step start and kickback-reducing chain head
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- Item weight not stated
- Chain speed listed as 26.2 with no unit
- Listing calls the saw 40V but the included components list two 20V 4.0Ah batteries, unexplained

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Chain Saw Cordless Chainsaw
A BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 10 in cordless chainsaw with an 8 in cut capacity, tool-free tensioning and a stated 2 year limited warranty, sold as tool only.
Pros
- 2 year limited warranty stated
- 8 in cut capacity on a 10 in bar
- Tool-free chain tensioning
- Oiling system for bar and chain lubrication
Cons
- Tool only; battery and charger not included per the title and bullets
- Listing contradicts itself: the spec table's included-components row lists a battery and two other parts
- No chain brake or kickback feature stated
- Chain speed not stated

Brushless Cordless Chainsaw Electric 12 Inch
A brushless 12 in cordless chainsaw that fits DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, with a stated 45 ft/s chain speed, low-kickback chain, 5-stage protection and auto-oiling, sold without a battery.
Pros
- Fits DeWalt 18V/20V MAX batteries you may already own
- Brushless motor with 45 ft/s stated chain speed
- Low-kickback chain, 120-degree debris guard and 5-stage protection
- Auto-oiling and tool-free tensioning
Cons
- No battery included
- No warranty term stated
- Power listed as 2 hp with no context
- Maker claims about efficiency and speed have no stated reference point in the listing
More options to compare
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawCheck price on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT 7/8 in. CordlessCheck price on Amazon
Side by side
| Factor | 20V examples | 40V examples | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Platform voltage | 20V MAX (BLACK+DECKER, ODOGYM) | 40V (SEYVUM, Greenworks) | 40V is twice the stated platform voltage |
| Bar lengths | 10 in and 12 in | 12 in and 16 in | The 40V listings run the longer bars |
| Chain speed | 45 ft/s (ODOGYM); not stated (BLACK+DECKER) | 26.2, no unit stated (SEYVUM); not stated (Greenworks) | Too few listings state it for a side win |
| Listed weight | 7.6 lb (BLACK+DECKER); 4 lb (ODOGYM) | 2.72 kg (Greenworks); not stated (SEYVUM) | Not stated for the SEYVUM listing |
| Batteries included | No; both listings are tool only | Yes: two 4.0Ah packs (SEYVUM); no, tool only (Greenworks) | Check the listing before you buy |
| Oiling | Oiling system (BLACK+DECKER); auto-oiling (ODOGYM) | Auto oiler (SEYVUM); automatic oiler (Greenworks) | All four listings state some form of oiling |
| Kickback and brake | Low-kickback chain (ODOGYM); none stated (BLACK+DECKER) | Chain brake stopping in 0.2 s (SEYVUM); low-kickback chain with hand guard (Greenworks) | The 40V examples state more here |
| Warranty stated | 2 year limited (BLACK+DECKER); none stated (ODOGYM) | 3 year (Greenworks); none stated (SEYVUM) | Varies by listing, not by side |
| Who should pick it | Pick the 20V side for light pruning and small cuts | Pick the 40V side for bigger cuts and longer bars | Match the saw to the wood you cut |
Figures are manufacturer stated, collected 19 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not publish the figure.
The 20v vs 40v chainsaw question: what actually separates them
Voltage sets the platform, not the saw. The two 20V examples pair 20V batteries with 10 and 12 in bars; the two 40V examples pair 40V with 12 and 16 in bars. A longer bar lets the saw reach across a bigger round in one pass, and only the 40V side lists a 16 in bar here.
What the listings state beyond voltage matters more. The SEYVUM 40V is the only example that states a chain brake and a start sequence that needs two actions at once. The Greenworks 40V and the ODOGYM 20V both state low-kickback chains; the BLACK+DECKER 20V states none of these. All four list oiling of some kind, and only the SEYVUM kit puts batteries and a charger in the box.
Power and cutting capacity
The power figures the listings state do not line up for a clean side-by-side. The BLACK+DECKER 20V lists 3.5 hp, the ODOGYM 20V lists 2 hp, the SEYVUM 40V lists 1600 watts, and the Greenworks 40V lists 1 hp. Chain speed is stated for just two of the four: 45 ft/s on the ODOGYM and 26.2 with no unit on the SEYVUM. Because no figure is stated on both sides, neither side wins on power here; the bar lengths are the clearer difference, with 16 in stated only on the 40V side.
Batteries: what comes in the box
This is where listings differ more than platforms. Three of the four are tool only: the BLACK+DECKER, the ODOGYM and the Greenworks ship no battery or charger. The ODOGYM does name the packs it fits, DeWalt 18V/20V MAX, which suits someone who already runs that platform. The SEYVUM 40V kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a 2.4A dual port charger, though the included-components row oddly lists the packs as 20V while the saw is sold as 40V, without explanation.
Safety features stated
The 40V examples state more here. The SEYVUM lists a two-step start, a kickback-reducing chain head and an instant-stop chain brake that the listing says stops the chain within 0.2 seconds. The Greenworks lists a low-kickback chain with a hand guard. On the 20V side the ODOGYM lists a low-kickback chain, a 120-degree debris guard and 5-stage protection against overload, overheat, short-circuit, undervoltage and overcharge, while the BLACK+DECKER states only a guide bar scabbard. Whatever you buy, cut with chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots, and never cut alone.
Four examples
How we scored them
Each example is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenworks 40V 12in | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
| SEYVUM 40V 16in | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V 10in | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 18 | 3 | 4 |
| ODOGYM 20V 12in | 9.4 | 29 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Around the Woodpile
- Keep the bar covered between uses: the BLACK+DECKER listing includes a guide bar scabbard and the SEYVUM kit a blade protection cover.
- The SEYVUM listing says to add lubricating oil before use and run the saw idle about 10 seconds until oil flow is normal before cutting.
- The SEYVUM starts only with the safety button and the switch pressed together; treat every battery saw as live whenever a pack is attached.
- Store packs cool and dry, and charge the SEYVUM kit with the dual port charger the listing includes rather than a charger it does not name.
- Chaps, helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots are the kit, plus a second person within call. See our chainsaw chaps vs chainsaw pants comparison for leg protection.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a 40v chainsaw always stronger than a 20v chainsaw?
No. Voltage sets the battery platform; the work follows the bar length, chain speed and battery capacity the listing states, and the four listings here state different subsets. A figure from one listing describes that listing only, so only figures both listings state can be compared fairly.
Can I run a 20v battery in a 40v chainsaw?
Only use the battery the listing names. The ODOGYM 20V fits DeWalt 18V/20V MAX packs, and the SEYVUM 40V kit lists two 4.0Ah packs. The other two listings are tool only and name no battery, so there is nothing safe to assume.
What bar length do I need for firewood?
Match the bar to the wood. The examples run 10, 12 and 16 in bars; the 16 in SEYVUM reaches across bigger rounds, while the 10 and 12 in examples suit pruning, storm limbs and small cuts. Bar length is a clearer guide than voltage in these listings.
Do battery chainsaws need chain oil?
Yes. All four listings state oiling: an oiling system on the BLACK+DECKER, auto-oiling on the ODOGYM, an automatic oiler on the SEYVUM and an automatic oiler on the Greenworks. The SEYVUM listing adds that oil goes in before use, with about 10 seconds of idle until flow is normal.
Which side should a homeowner starting out pick?
If you already own a 20V battery platform and mostly prune and cut kindling, a 20V example fits. If you cut bigger rounds and want the batteries in the box, the 40V SEYVUM kit lists the saw, two packs and a charger together. Either way, read what the listing actually states before you decide.
Related guides
See the gas vs battery chainsaw comparison, the corded vs cordless chainsaw comparison, the best battery chainsaws for homeowners and chainsaw oil for battery chainsaws.







