Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Battery Chainsaw DeWalt vs Milwaukee: Which One Should You Buy?

DeWalt and Milwaukee battery chainsaws compared on bar length, battery voltage, cutting capacity, weight and upkeep, with one pruning saw example of each.

Battery Chainsaw DeWalt vs Milwaukee: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 116" 40V Brushless Cordless Chainsaw for DeWALT 20V MAX16" 40V Brushless Cordless Chainsaw for DeWALT 20V MAX9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Milwaukee Saw Pruning Cordless 12V 6IN 2527-20 Brand:Milwaukee Saw Pruning Cordless 12V 6IN 2527-20 Brand:9.3/10View on Amazon
  3. 3ReliaRoads 16-Inch 40V Brushless Cordless Chainsaw for DeWaltReliaRoads 16-Inch 40V Brushless Cordless Chainsaw for DeWalt9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Mini Chainsaw for Dewalt 20V BatteryMini Chainsaw for Dewalt 20V BatteryView on Amazon
  5. 5DEWALT FLEXVOLT CHAINSAW 60V 2Ah 16INDEWALT FLEXVOLT CHAINSAW 60V 2Ah 16INView on Amazon
  6. 6HEINPRO Cordless Pole Saw Compatible with Dewalt 20V MAXHEINPRO Cordless Pole Saw Compatible with Dewalt 20V MAXView on Amazon

Verdict: Choose the battery chainsaw DeWalt side if you want the longer reach of an 8-inch bar, an included 3 Ah battery and auto-oiling as seen on the DeWalt 20V pruning kit. Choose the milwaukee side if you already own compatible 12V batteries and want a compact 6-inch bare tool as represented by the Milwaukee pruning saw.

When autumn winds drop dead limbs across the driveway or spring woodlot cleanup calls for cutting kindling, a small cordless saw saves hauling out a heavy gas rig. Choosing between a battery chainsaw DeWalt vs Milwaukee comes down to voltage platform, bar length, whether you need a complete battery kit or a bare tool, and how much cutting capacity you expect around the woodpile. This head-to-head comparison reviews what separates the two brands, using two specific cordless pruning examples from the listings to weigh cutting reach, run time, weight and upkeep.

FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

DEWALT 20V MAX 8 inch Brushless Cordless Pruning

DEWALT 20V MAX 8 inch Brushless Cordless Pruning

DEWALT9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8 inch 20V MAX cordless pruning chainsaw with a brushless motor, included 3 Ah battery, auto-oiling, tip guard for upcuts and a listed weight of 4.6 pounds.

Pros

  • Includes a 3 Ah battery ready to work
  • Stated up to 70 cuts per charge on 4x4 pine
  • Auto-oiling lubrication system stated
  • Tip guard designed for upcut stability

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term stated in listing
  • No chain brake stated in listing
  • Pruning bar limited compared to full-size saws
  • Listing does not state chain pitch or gauge
Milwaukee Saw Pruning Cordless 12V 6IN 2527-20

Milwaukee Saw Pruning Cordless 12V 6IN 2527-20

Milwaukee9.3/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6 inch 12V cordless pruning saw with a brushless motor, bare tool configuration, dimensions of 16.56 x 3.76 x 9.12 inches and a listed weight of 4.1 pounds.

Pros

  • Light listed bare-tool weight of 4.1 pounds
  • Brushless motor listed in product features
  • Compact dimensions of 16.56 x 3.76 x 9.12 inches
  • 12V cordless platform for tight pruning spots

Cons

  • Bare tool only, battery and charger not included
  • Listing contradicts voltage with 220V in spec table
  • No chain brake or auto-oiling stated
  • No warranty term stated in listing

More options to compare

Side by side

Product Bar length Voltage Weight
DeWalt 20V MAX 8-Inch 8 inches 20V MAX 4.6 lb
Milwaukee 12V 6-Inch 6 inches 12V 4.1 lb

Listing figures are manufacturer stated, collected 14 October 2026.

Battery chainsaw DeWalt vs Milwaukee: bar length and cutting reach

Guide bar length determines the branch thickness you can tackle in a single pass. The DeWalt example features an 8-inch bar with an auto-oiling system, giving it more cutting reach than the 6-inch bar on the Milwaukee example. An 8-inch bar provides enough working clearance to trim medium limbs and small windfall branches around the woodlot without pinching the nose sprocket. The Milwaukee listing specifies a 6-inch blade length, keeping the tool compact for tight branches and light pruning in dense brush. Shorter bars offer precise control when working between closely spaced branches, but require repositioning when cutting thicker wood. The tip guard on the DeWalt example adds stability during upcuts, though it prevents plunge cutting. Neither example replaces a full-size firewood saw for bucking large logs, but the longer bar on the DeWalt example handles thicker branch wood. See our guide on guide bar sizing for larger cutting tasks.

Run time and cuts per charge

Run time on any battery saw varies with wood species, moisture and chain sharpness. The DeWalt listing states up to 70 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure treated pine with its included 3 Ah battery pack (DCB230). Cutting seasoned oak or dry maple places higher electrical load on a brushless motor than softer pine, which can reduce total cuts per charge. The Milwaukee listing does not state cut capacity, run time or battery amp-hours for its bare tool. Because the Milwaukee listing leaves run time unstated, a direct endurance comparison between the two tools cannot be confirmed from the published data. For woodlot maintenance away from power outlets, battery capacity dictates how long you can trim before swapping packs. If you choose a bare tool like the Milwaukee example, selecting higher amp-hour batteries will provide longer working sessions between charges.

Tool weight and handling

Tool weight affects handling during limb trimming near the woodpile. The Milwaukee example lists an item weight of 4.1 pounds as a bare tool, with dimensions of 16.56 by 3.76 by 9.12 inches. A compact footprint allows the saw to slide between crowded saplings without snagging twigs. The DeWalt example lists an item weight of 4.6 pounds and features a tip guard designed to provide stability during upcuts. While the DeWalt saw is slightly heavier on paper, its listed weight includes the complete tool assembly. Because the Milwaukee listing provides bare-tool weight without a battery, the listings leave operating weight comparisons unclear once a battery is attached. Both tools require a balanced stance and a firm two-handed grip on the housing to guide the cut safely and prevent binding in the kerf.

Battery platform and included gear

The biggest practical difference between these two listings lies in the box contents and battery system. The DeWalt example runs on the 20V MAX platform and arrives as a kit with a 3 Ah battery included. The Milwaukee example runs on a 12V line and ships as a bare tool with no battery or charger included. Note that the Milwaukee spec table contains an obvious error listing 220 volts, but the title and bullets specify 12V operation. For buyers starting fresh without cordless equipment, the DeWalt kit provides an out-of-the-box solution with power ready to work. For woodcutters who already own compatible 12V tools and chargers, buying the Milwaukee bare tool avoids the expense of redundant batteries. Choosing between them often hinges on which cordless tool family already sits in your workshop.

Oiling, chain care and upkeep

Continuous chain lubrication reduces friction and bar wear. The DeWalt example states auto-oiling for continuous lubrication during operation, which delivers bar oil to the chain groove as the motor runs. Regular oil flow cools the bar and helps clear wood chips from the drive links. The Milwaukee listing does not state a chain lubrication mechanism, leaving oiling requirements unstated. Operating any saw chain without adequate lubrication quickly overheats the guide bar and dulls cutter teeth. Both saws require clean bar and chain oil and routine sharpening with a round file matched to the chain pitch. Maintaining proper chain tension is equally critical on compact saws, as loose chains can slip from the guide bar groove. Learn more in our guide to chainsaw oil for battery chainsaws.

Two examples

How we scored them

Each example is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
DeWalt 20V MAX 8-Inch 9.5 29 21 21 3 0
Milwaukee 12V 6-Inch 9.3 24 16 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Chainsaw safety

Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Around the Woodpile

  • Wear full chainsaw personal protective equipment on every cut: chainsaw chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, heavy gloves and cut-resistant boots.
  • Never cut alone in the woodlot, maintain balanced footing and grip the saw firmly with two hands to control kickback.
  • Check the bar oil level before each work session, particularly on auto-oiling tools like the DeWalt example.
  • Remove the battery pack before inspecting chain tension, clearing chips or cleaning around the guide bar.
  • Store lithium-ion batteries in a dry, temperature-controlled area rather than an unheated outbuilding during freezing winter months to preserve charge retention.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a DeWalt or Milwaukee battery chainsaw better?

Neither brand is universally superior. Between these two examples, the DeWalt 20V pruning saw listing provides an 8-inch bar, an included 3 Ah battery and auto-oiling as a complete kit. The Milwaukee 12V example provides a compact 6-inch bare tool for users already invested in compatible 12V batteries. The better choice depends on whether you need an out-of-the-box kit or already own 12V packs.

What size battery does a DeWalt cordless chainsaw use?

The DeWalt 20V MAX example listing includes a 3 Ah DCB230 battery pack, which the manufacturer states yields up to 70 cuts on 4×4 pressure treated pine. The tool operates on the DeWalt 20V MAX battery platform.

How to use a DeWalt battery chainsaw safely for pruning?

Insert a charged 20V MAX battery, inspect the bar oil reservoir, secure balanced footing, and grip the saw firmly with two hands. Position the guide bar against the target branch before pulling the throttle trigger, allowing the chain speed to draw smoothly through the wood without applying excessive downward force.

How to clean a DeWalt battery chainsaw after cutting?

Always disconnect the battery pack before cleaning. Clear wood chips and sawdust from the sprocket area, wipe down the guide bar and motor housing with a clean cloth, and ensure the auto-oiling oil reservoir cap is free of debris.

Do these small battery chainsaws have a chain brake?

Neither listing states a chain brake. The DeWalt example listing specifies a tip guard designed to provide stability during upcuts, while the Milwaukee listing states no safety brake mechanism. Always follow proper two-handed operating techniques and wear protective gear.

Can you cut firewood logs with these pruning saws?

These compact pruning tools feature 6-inch and 8-inch bars designed for trimming branches, clearing brush and cutting kindling. For bucking full firewood logs, a larger chainsaw with a longer guide bar and higher cutting capacity is needed.

See our chainsaw guide, our look at gas vs battery chainsaws, our guide on cordless chainsaws vs reciprocating saws, and our overview of chainsaw types. For bar care, read our guide to chainsaw oil for battery chainsaws.

More buying guides