We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Stihl vs Husqvarna Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?

Stihl and Husqvarna chainsaws compared on engine power, bar length, weight, safety features and warranty coverage, using concrete examples from the listings we reviewed.

Four Stihl and Husqvarna chainsaws shown as product cards with their Woodlot Scores: Husqvarna 135 Mark II 8.2/10, Stihl MS 162 Gas Saw 6.3/10, Stihl GTA 26 Cutter 5.0/10, Dunhil 20-Inch Set 4.4/10

Verdict: In the stihl vs husqvarna chainsaw comparison, choose Husqvarna if you want a conventional homeowner gas saw with a verified 2 Year Warranty and published displacement like the 38-cc 135 Mark II example. Choose Stihl if you want a compact pruning cutter like the battery-powered GTA 26 example or an entry gas powerhead like the MS 162 example, provided you verify warranty coverage and bar length with the seller.

Both brands represent the leading names in forestry and firewood cutting. They differ in engine technology, product lineup options, and how third-party listings publish specifications and warranty coverage. This comparison examines how the two brands compare, using four concrete listing examples from Amazon.

FirewoodGearHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Side by side

Factor Stihl Husqvarna Verdict
Listing power figures 1.2 KW on MS 162; GTA 26 power not stated 38 cc, 2.1 HP (2 hp in table) on 135 Mark II Husqvarna states cc displacement; Stihl MS 162 lists KW
Stated bar length 16 in (bullets state 30 cm) on MS 162; GTA 26 not stated 16 in (supports 14 to 16 in) on 135 Mark II; 20 in on Dunhil set Husqvarna states recommended range; Stihl has contradictory bullet
Listed item weight 13.3 lb on MS 162; GTA 26 not stated 4.7 lb on 135 Mark II; 25.6 oz unit count on Dunhil set Both gas listings leave powerhead vs assembled weight context unclear
Power source options MIX gas fuel (MS 162) and battery operated (GTA 26) Gas powered 2-cycle engine (135 Mark II) Stihl includes battery cutter; Husqvarna example is gas
Safety features Not stated on reviewed listings Inertia-activated chain brake on 135 Mark II Husqvarna listing states chain brake; Stihl listings leave it unstated
Stated warranty Not stated on reviewed listings 2 Year Warranty on 135 Mark II Husqvarna listing states 2 years; Stihl listings state no term
Example: Husqvarna 135 Mark II (gas) Not applicable 38 cc, 2.1 HP, 16 in bar, 4.7 lb listed weight, 2 Year Warranty Gas saw with documented warranty and chain brake
Example: Stihl MS 162 (gas) 1.2 KW, 16 in bar (30 cm bullet), 13.3 lb listed weight Not applicable Entry gas saw with unstated warranty
Example: Stihl GTA 26 (battery) Battery operated wood cutter with battery and charger Not applicable Compact pruning tool with missing spec sheet
Example: Dunhil 20-Inch Set (accessory) Not applicable 20 in guide bar and 2 chains with 80 drive links Replacement bar and chain set for Husqvarna saws

Figures reflect manufacturer statements from the listings reviewed, collected 9 October 2026.

Stihl vs Husqvarna Chainsaw: Key Differences

When evaluating Stihl and Husqvarna models for firewood cutting, engine specifications and powerhead ratings provide the primary point of comparison. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II example lists a 38-cc 2-cycle X-Torq engine rated at 2.1-HP (with its spec table listing 2 hp). In contrast, the Stihl MS 162 example states 1.2 KW in its horsepower field with a MIX fuel source, while omitting engine displacement in cubic centimeters. The Stihl GTA 26 battery example lists no power rating or motor wattage. For general cutting recommendations, see our guide to the best chainsaw for firewood.

Bar Length and Cutting Capacity

Guide bar size dictates the diameter of firewood rounds you can buck efficiently. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II example features a 16-inch bar with recommended compatibility between 14 and 16 inches. The Stihl MS 162 listing presents a contradiction: its title specifies a 16-inch bar and chain, while its bullets describe a 30 cm chain saw. The Stihl GTA 26 listing leaves guide bar length unstated. Meanwhile, the Dunhil accessory set provides a 20-inch guide bar with two 80 drive link chains listed for compatible Husqvarna models such as the 450 Rancher. For replacement cutting loops, read our guide on the best chainsaw chain.

Weight and Handling

Working weight significantly influences operator fatigue during extended cutting sessions. The Stihl MS 162 listing states an item weight of 13.3 pounds, though it leaves unclear whether that includes packaging, bar and chain, or dry powerhead alone. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II listing states an item weight of 4.7 pounds, an unusually low figure that also leaves unclear whether it measures only the bare engine housing. Because the listings define weight differently or omit context, neither listing allows a direct, fair weight comparison. For starting tips on gas powerheads, check our guide on how to start a gas chainsaw.

Safety Features and Certifications

Chainsaw operation carries inherent hazards, making safety mechanisms essential. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II listing explicitly states an inertia-activated chain brake designed to reduce kickback injury. Neither the Stihl MS 162 nor the Stihl GTA 26 listing states a chain brake or safety certification. While gas chainsaws generally include chain braking systems, an omission in an Amazon listing simply leaves the feature unconfirmed on that listing, rather than indicating the tool lacks it. The handheld Stihl GTA 26 cutter belongs to a different tool category and does not feature a conventional front hand guard brake. Core chainsaw safety requires proper personal protective equipment: chainsaw chaps, a forestry helmet with face screen and hearing protection, heavy-duty gloves and protective boots. Never cut alone, maintain awareness of kickback zones, and consult official sources such as the OSHA logging eTool. To understand leg protection standards, see our guide on do chainsaw chaps work.

Warranty Terms and Listing Accuracy

Warranty coverage provides protection against manufacturing defects. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II listing includes a 2 Year Warranty in its specification table. Neither Stihl listing states a warranty term on the reviewed product page, so buyers must verify coverage terms with the seller or manufacturer. Listing accuracy also varies: the Stihl MS 162 listing has contradictory bar length measurements between its 16-inch title and 30 cm bullet, and lists the brand as KAKEI in the listing header. The Dunhil accessory listing shows pitch as 0.05 inches in the spec table despite specifying .325-inch pitch in the bullets. For safety recalls across outdoor power equipment, see how to check if your chainsaw or log splitter is recalled.

Reviewed examples

Award Product Woodlot Score About the HQ ScoreThe Woodlot Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›
Husqvarna 135 Mark II Gas Powered Chainsaw Husqvarna 135 Mark II Gas Powered Chainsaw 8.2/10 Buy
Stihl MS 162 Chainsaw W/ 16" Bar & Chain Brand Stihl MS 162 Chainsaw W/ 16" Bar & Chain Brand 6.3/10 Buy
Stihl GTA 26 Wood Cutter with Battery and Charger Stihl GTA 26 Wood Cutter with Battery and Charger 5.0/10 Buy
Dunhil 20 Inch Chainsaw Chains 325 050 80dl(2 Dunhil 20 Inch Chainsaw Chains 325 050 80dl(2 4.4/10 Buy
1
Husqvarna 135 Mark II Gas Powered Chainsaw

Husqvarna 135 Mark II Gas Powered Chainsaw

Husqvarna · 8.2/10 Woodlot Score About the HQ ScoreThe Woodlot Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick › · In stock

A 38-cc gas chainsaw with a 2.1-HP X-Torq engine, 16-inch bar, inertia-activated chain brake, LowVib dampeners and a 2-year manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • Inertia-activated chain brake to reduce kickback injury
  • 2 Year Warranty stated by manufacturer
  • X-Torq 38-cc engine with Smart Start and automatic oiler
  • LowVib vibration dampeners and air injection debris cleaning

Cons

  • Horsepower listed as 2.1-HP in title but 2 hp in spec table
  • Listed weight of 4.7 pounds leaves it unclear if powerhead only
  • Recommended bar length limited to 14 to 16 inches
  • Requires mixing fuel and oil at 50:1 ratio
2
Stihl MS 162 Chainsaw W/ 16" Bar & Chain Brand

Stihl MS 162 Chainsaw W/ 16" Bar & Chain Brand

KAKEI · 6.3/10 Woodlot Score About the HQ ScoreThe Woodlot Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick › · In stock

A gas chainsaw with a listed 1.2 KW power rating, 16-inch bar and chain, MIX power source, 13.3-pound item weight and model number 1148-011-3000.

Pros

  • Gas powered MIX engine listed at 1.2 KW
  • 16-inch bar and chain for firewood cutting
  • Listed with Stihl manufacturer model 1148-011-3000
  • Stated dimensions of 19.69 by 11.81 by 11.81 inches

Cons

  • Contradiction between 16-inch title and 30 cm bullet
  • Listing states brand as KAKEI despite Stihl markings
  • No chain brake or safety certifications stated
  • No warranty term is stated
3
Stihl GTA 26 Wood Cutter with Battery and Charger

Stihl GTA 26 Wood Cutter with Battery and Charger

Stihl · 5.0/10 Woodlot Score About the HQ ScoreThe Woodlot Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick › · In stock

A battery operated handheld wood cutter with included battery and charger, stated as Made in Germany by Stihl.

Pros

  • Battery operated wood cutter for cordless pruning
  • Includes battery and charger in the package
  • Bullets state Made in Germany
  • Compact handheld format from Stihl

Cons

  • Guide bar length is not stated
  • Battery voltage and amp-hour capacity are not stated
  • Item weight and dimensions are not stated
  • No warranty term is stated
4
Dunhil 20 Inch Chainsaw Chains 325 050 80dl(2

Dunhil 20 Inch Chainsaw Chains 325 050 80dl(2

Dunhil · 4.4/10 Woodlot Score About the HQ ScoreThe Woodlot Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick › · In stock

A replacement chainsaw bar and chain set featuring one 20-inch guide bar and two 80 drive link chains for Husqvarna chainsaws.

Pros

  • Includes one 20-inch guide bar and two chains
  • Semi-chisel chain with 80 drive link count
  • K095 mount compatible with Husqvarna 450 Rancher and others
  • Three-piece package with stated 25.6-ounce unit count

Cons

  • Replacement bar and chain set, not an operable chainsaw
  • Spec table states 0.05-inch pitch while bullets state .325-inch
  • No power source, motor or chain brake included
  • No warranty term is stated

How we scored them

Each example is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Husqvarna 135 Mark II 8.2 29 21 20 8 3
Stihl MS 162 Gas Saw 6.3 27 19 18 0 0
Stihl GTA 26 Cutter 5.0 18 18 15 0 0
Dunhil 20-Inch Set 4.4 13 15 16 0 0
Chainsaw safety

Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better, a Stihl or Husqvarna chainsaw?

Neither brand is universally superior. In the listings reviewed, the Husqvarna 135 Mark II explicitly documents its 38-cc displacement, 2 Year Warranty and inertia-activated chain brake. The reviewed Stihl listings leave warranty terms unstated on Amazon and exhibit incomplete or contradictory spec tables, making direct brand-wide comparisons unclear from these listings alone.

Does the Husqvarna 135 Mark II have a chain brake?

Yes. The Husqvarna 135 Mark II listing states that it includes an inertia-activated chain brake to reduce the risk of kickback injury.

What bar length does the Stihl MS 162 have?

The Stihl MS 162 listing presents conflicting information: the product title states a 16-inch bar and chain, while the bullet points describe a 30 cm chain saw.

Are battery options available from Stihl?

Yes. The Stihl GTA 26 is a battery operated handheld wood cutter with included battery and charger, though its listing omits bar length, weight and battery capacity specifications.

What safety equipment is required when cutting firewood?

Operators should wear protective chainsaw chaps, a helmet with face shield and hearing protection, cut-resistant gloves and sturdy boots. Always follow OSHA logging eTool guidelines and avoid cutting alone.

Explore our chainsaw hub, our guide to gas chainsaws, our overview of battery chainsaws, and our roundup of the best chainsaw for firewood.

About the author

FirewoodGearHQ Editorial
FirewoodGearHQ Editorial

The FirewoodGearHQ editorial team researches firewood and wood heating equipment from published specifications, ratings and warranty terms, and scores every pick the same way. We do not run our own product trials.