Poulan vs Craftsman Chainsaw: Which One Should You Buy?
Poulan vs Craftsman chainsaw: two Craftsman V20 battery saws compared, with the Poulan gas side described in general terms.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
8TEN Full Chisel Chainsaw Chain 16" Bar .050 Gauge 3/8 Pitch9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
KAKEI 16 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .050" Gauge 569.6/10View on Amazon - 3
5 Pack 16 Inch Chainsaw Chain9.4/10View on Amazon
Verdict. Both examples listed here are Craftsman battery saws, so pick between them on size: the 12-inch V20 for bigger cutting with a 4.0 Ah battery and auto oiling, or the 6-inch mini for light pruning with a 2.0 Ah battery. No Poulan example is listed here, so the Poulan side stays general: it is the gas-powered alternative for longer runtime away from a charger.
Poulan vs Craftsman chainsaw is usually a gas-versus-battery question, but this comparison only has listings for the Craftsman side: two V20 battery saws, a 12-inch compact chainsaw and a 6-inch mini pruning saw. The Poulan side has no example here, so the concrete figures below are all Craftsman, and the Poulan side is described in general terms.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Chainsaw
12-inch V20 cordless chainsaw with 4.0 Ah battery, auto oiling and 3 year limited warranty.
Pros
- 4.0 Ah battery and charger included
- Auto oiling with tool-free tensioning
- 3 year limited warranty stated
- Bubble level for level cuts
Cons
- No chain brake stated
- No low-kickback chain stated
- Chain speed stated as 44 with no unit
- 9.9 lb, the heavier of the two

CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini Cordless Chainsaw, Pruning Saw
6-inch V20 mini pruning saw with 2.0 Ah battery, 4 in cut capacity and tip guard.
Pros
- 2.0 Ah battery, charger, sheath and wrench included
- 4 in stated cut capacity with 6 in bar
- Integrated tip guard
- 3 year limited warranty stated
Cons
- No chain brake stated
- No low-kickback chain stated
- Listing disagrees on weight: 5 lb vs 8 lb
- No auto oiling stated
Poulan vs Craftsman chainsaw: side by side
| Saw | Bar | Battery | Cut capacity | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN V20 12-Inch | 12 in | 4.0 Ah | Not stated | 9.9 lb | 3 year limited |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini | 6 in | 2.0 Ah | 4 in | 5 lb tool / 8 lb item | 3 year limited |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. No Poulan listing is featured here, so every figure in the table is a Craftsman figure.
Power and batteries
Both examples run on the Craftsman V20 battery platform, so one battery family serves both saws. The 12-inch saw ships with a 4.0 Ah lithium ion battery and charger, and the listing claims extended runtime from the high-capacity pack. The mini ships with a 2.0 Ah battery and charger, and claims cutting power up to 85 cuts. A bigger amp-hour pack means more cuts per charge, so the 12-inch saw is the one for longer sessions; the mini is the grab-and-prune saw. If you already own V20 tools, the bare-saw arithmetic changes, but both listings here are kits with battery and charger in the box. Neither listing states a chain brake or a low-kickback chain, so neither earns a safety score here.
Bar and cut capacity
The 12-inch saw has a 12 in bar and chain, aimed at small-space cutting with a bubble level for level cuts. Twelve inches of bar covers most firewood rounds in one pass, and the compact design is stated for cutting in small spaces. The mini’s 6 in bar is a different class: an integrated tip guard keeps the nose controlled on upper cuts, the stated 4 in cut capacity is the honest limit, and bolt lock chain tensioning needs the onboard wrench. The 12-inch saw uses tool-free tensioning and auto oiling. For firewood rounds, the 12-inch bar handles bigger wood; the mini is for limbs and pruning.
Weight and handling
The 12-inch saw states 9.9 lb with an integrated hook for the VERSATRACK wall system, sold separately. The mini’s listing disagrees with itself on weight: the spec table says 5 lb tool only and 8 lb item weight, so the guide trusts neither figure alone and treats it as the lighter saw by class. The mini is stated as 50 percent more compact and 14 percent lighter than the CMCCSL621B, which is a comparison against another Craftsman model, not against the 12-inch saw here.
Warranty
Both listings state a 3 Year Limited Warranty, which is the strongest warranty term in this comparison by default. Three years beats the one-year terms common on budget saws, and the named replacement parts mean you can keep either saw running without hunting for fit. The 12-inch saw also includes a bar cover; the mini includes a sheath with an on-board wrench holder, so the tensioning tool rides with the saw. Replacement parts are named: chain CMZCSC12 and bar CMZCSB12 for the 12-inch saw, chain CMZCSC6 for the mini.
Motor, voltage and chain speed
Both saws run on the Craftsman V20 platform, stated as 20V MAX on the mini listing. The mini states a brushed motor; the 12-inch saw does not state its motor type. Chain speed is stated differently on each listing: the 12-inch saw states 44 with no unit, and the mini states 4.4 m/s. Because the units do not match, the guide reports both figures without comparing them directly. For reference, the model numbers are CMCCS620M1 for the 12-inch saw and CMCCS320D1 for the mini, with battery packs CMCB204 (4.0 Ah) and CMCB202 (2.0 Ah).
Dimensions, storage and what rides along
The 12-inch saw states 26.94 by 9.03 by 10.88 inches and 9.9 lb, with an integrated hook for the VERSATRACK wall system, sold separately, and a bar cover in the box. The mini states 20.35 by 10.65 by 5.52 inches, with a storage sheath that has an on-board wrench holder, so the tensioning tool travels with the saw. The mini is stated as 50 percent more compact and 14 percent lighter than the CMCCSL621B, a comparison against another Craftsman model. Both kits include battery and charger, so either one is ready to cut on arrival.
Where a gas Poulan would fit
No Poulan listing is featured here, so this stays general. The Poulan side of this matchup is gas power: longer runtime away from outlets, at the cost of fuel mixing, pull starts and more maintenance. The Craftsman side here is battery power: push-button starts, no fuel, and minimal maintenance per the 12-inch saw’s listing, at the cost of runtime per charge and a second battery for long days. For cutting a cord or two of firewood near the house, the battery side is convenient; for all-day cutting far from power, gas earns its keep. Confirm any Poulan model on its own listing before you buy, since none is stated here.
Two examples
Two Craftsman V20 battery saws, ranked on what each listing states. The 12-inch saw leads on the bigger battery, auto oiling and longer bar; the mini follows as the lighter pruning specialist. Every figure below comes from that saw’s own listing; where a listing contradicts itself, the guide says so.
How we scored them
Each saw is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing states. Neither listing states a chain brake, a low-kickback chain or a UL listing, so safety is zero for both. Both state the 3 year limited warranty. The 12-inch saw leads on the bigger battery, auto oiling and 12 in bar; the mini follows as the lighter pruning specialist with a stated cut capacity and tip guard. The weights are on our How We Pick page.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN V20 12-Inch | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Craftsman V20 chainsaw should I buy?
The 12-inch CMCCS620M1 for bigger cutting with a 4.0 Ah battery and auto oiling; the 6-inch CMCCS320D1 mini for light pruning with a 2.0 Ah battery and a stated 4 in cut capacity.
How long does the battery last?
The mini claims up to 85 cuts on its 2.0 Ah battery. The 12-inch saw claims extended runtime from its 4.0 Ah pack but states no cut count.
Do these saws oil the chain automatically?
The 12-inch saw states auto oiling. The mini listing does not state auto oiling.
What warranty do they state?
Both state a 3 Year Limited Warranty, with replacement chains and bars named for each.
Do these saws share batteries?
Yes. Both run on the Craftsman V20 platform, and each kit includes its own battery and charger: 4.0 Ah with the 12-inch saw, 2.0 Ah with the mini.
What chain and bar do they take?
The listings name replacements: chain CMZCSC12 and bar CMZCSB12 for the 12-inch saw, chain CMZCSC6 for the mini. Buy spares against those part numbers.
Related guides
Also see our best chainsaw for firewood, the best battery chainsaw for homeowners, pole saw vs chainsaw and the best chainsaw sharpener.



