Birch vs Hickory Firewood: Which One Should You Buy?
Birch vs hickory firewood compared through two hickory listings, since no birch listing was supplied, ranked on log length, moisture, weight and certification.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Old Potters Kiln Dried Firewood9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Firewood Central Kiln-Dried PA Hickory9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Woodhaven 8-Foot Raised Firewood Rack w/Cover9.8/10View on Amazon - 4
Wilson Birch Split FirewoodView on Amazon - 5
Light 'n Go All Natural Portable Birch Bonfire Log Brand:View on Amazon
Verdict: Both example listings in this comparison are hickory, so choose between them by log length and use: the Old Potters 16 in box for fireplaces, stoves and fire pits, or the Firewood Central 8 in splits for pizza ovens, BBQ and smokers. No birch listing was included, so judge any birch box by the same stated facts: log length, moisture figure, weight and certification.
Fall is the season for stacking the woodpile before the first hard freeze, and the birch vs hickory firewood question comes up every year at the woodlot. The honest answer starts with the data: both listings supplied for this comparison are hickory, with no birch example included. So this guide compares the two hickory boxes on what their listings actually state, and shows what to check when you shop birch.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Old Potters Kiln Dried Firewood
Kiln-dried hickory box with 16 in logs, 1.5 cu ft at about 40 lb, USDA certified to below 20% moisture.
Pros
- USDA certified kiln dried to below 20% moisture
- 16 in logs fit fireplaces, stoves and fire pits
- 1.5 cu ft in a strapped, reinforced box
- Single named species, not assorted hardwood
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 1.5 cu ft is a small quantity for regular burning
- No split count is stated
- Needs dry, ventilated storage off the ground

Firewood Central Kiln-Dried PA Hickory
Kiln-dried hickory splits for cooking, 8 in cuts bundled 30 to 35 to a 39.5 lb box, dried to 15% moisture or less.
Pros
- Kiln dried to 15% moisture or less, PDA-certified
- 30 to 35 evenly sized 8 in splits
- Bold smoke stated for pizza ovens and BBQ
- 39.5 lb bundle, pre-cut and easy to store
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 8 in splits suit cookers more than large fireplaces
- Weight figures conflict: 39.5 lb in bullets, 39.4 pounds in the spec table
- No volume figure is stated
More options to compare
Wilson Birch Split FirewoodCheck price on Amazon
Light 'n Go All Natural Portable Birch Bonfire Log Brand:Check price on Amazon
Birch vs hickory firewood: side by side
| Factor | Birch firewood | Hickory firewood | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Example listings | None included | Old Potters; Firewood Central | Both listings are tagged hickory |
| Log length stated | Not stated | 16 in; 8 in splits | One figure per listing |
| Moisture figure stated | Not stated | Below 20%; 15% or less | One figure per listing |
| Box weight stated | Not stated | About 40 lb; 39.5 lb | One figure per listing |
| Volume stated | Not stated | 1.5 cu ft; not stated | Old Potters only |
| Certification stated | Not stated | USDA certified; PDA-certified | As worded in the listings |
| Stated uses | Not stated | Fireplaces, stoves, fire pits; pizza ovens, BBQ, smokers | One list per listing |
Figures are manufacturer rated, collected 22 October 2026. No birch listing was included in this comparison, so the birch column records what the listings leave unstated rather than a competing spec.
Log length and split size
Log length decides whether the wood fits the firebox, and it is the clearest difference between the two hickory examples. The Old Potters logs are cut to 16 in, sized in the listing for indoor fireplaces, wood stoves, backyard fire pits, Solo Stove and chimineas. The Firewood Central splits are 8 in, bundled 30 to 35 to a box and sized in the listing for pizza ovens, grills and smokers. One listing’s figure describes that listing only: the 16 in figure belongs to the Old Potters box, the 8 in figure to the Firewood Central bundle. When you compare a birch listing, check that it states a log length at all; a listing that leaves it unclear is a reason to keep looking, not a win for either side.
Moisture and certification
Both hickory listings are kiln dried and both state a moisture figure, which is what separates a ready-to-burn box from a seasoning project. The Old Potters listing states heat treatment under USDA oversight to below 20% moisture, and notes the wood is accepted where untreated firewood is banned. The Firewood Central listing states PDA-certified firewood dried to 15% moisture or less. A moisture meter settles questions the listing does not answer; see the digital vs analog firewood moisture meter guide. For birch, look for the same two facts: a stated moisture figure and a named certification, stated in the listing rather than assumed.
Weight, volume and the box
The Old Potters box holds 1.5 cu ft and weighs about 40 lb, strapped and reinforced for delivery. The Firewood Central bundle weighs 39.5 lb in the bullets, though the spec table says 39.4 pounds; trust the bullets, and note the listing states no volume figure. Compare volume where it is stated and weight where it is not, and do not mix the two when you size a purchase.
What the listings say the wood is for
The two hickory boxes aim at different fires. The Old Potters listing names indoor fireplaces, wood stoves, backyard fire pits, Solo Stove and chimineas, and the maker calls hickory its longest-burning wood, with a strong, smoky aroma. The Firewood Central listing is built around cooking: bold smoke for wood-fired pizzas, ribs, brisket, red meat and game, plus grills, smokers, fire pits and campfires. Neither listing describes birch, so this guide makes no claim about which species burns longer; the listings only support comparing the two hickory boxes against each other.
Two examples
How we scored them
Each example is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Old Potters hickory firewood | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
| Firewood Central hickory splits | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Wear eye protection and gloves for cutting, splitting and handling, follow every tool's manual, install stoves to code, and have the chimney inspected and cleaned every year. See EPA Burn Wise and NFPA heating safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Buying advice: what to check on any firewood listing
Start with the species line. The Old Potters listing names a single species, hickory, and states it outright: not “assorted hardwood”. When a listing names the species, you know what you are getting; when it says assorted hardwood, you do not. The same check applies to birch: look for the word birch in the title and bullets, not just in the article slug.
Read the drying claim closely. Both hickory listings are kiln dried, but they state different facts: Old Potters states heat treatment under USDA oversight to below 20% moisture, Firewood Central states PDA certification and drying to 15% moisture or less. A named oversight body and a concrete moisture figure beat a bare “kiln dried”. Where untreated firewood is banned, the Old Potters listing notes it is accepted; check your park’s rules before hauling wood across lines.
Match the cut to the fire. The Old Potters logs are cut to 16 inches for indoor fireplaces, wood stoves, backyard fire pits, Solo Stove and chimineas; the Firewood Central splits are 8 inches for pizza ovens, grills and smokers. A 16 inch log does not fit an 8 inch oven mouth, and 8 inch splits vanish fast in a big firebox, so size the box to the fire, not the other way round.
Compare like with like on quantity. The Old Potters box states 1.5 cubic feet at about 40 pounds in a strapped, reinforced box; the Firewood Central bundle states 39.5 pounds in 30 to 35 splits with no volume figure. Do not compare a cubic-foot figure to a weight figure and call the bigger number the better deal. For storage, the Old Potters listing says to store off the ground in a dry, ventilated spot, which applies to any box you buy.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why are both examples hickory?
Both listings supplied for this comparison are tagged hickory; no birch listing was included. The two hickory boxes are compared on log length, moisture figure, weight and certification, which are the same facts to check on any birch listing.
What log length should you buy?
Match the log to the firebox. The Old Potters logs are cut to 16 in for fireplaces, stoves and fire pits; the Firewood Central splits are 8 in for pizza ovens, grills and smokers.
What moisture figure should kiln-dried firewood state?
The Old Potters listing states below 20% moisture under USDA oversight; the Firewood Central listing states 15% moisture or less. A listing that states no moisture figure leaves it unclear.
How much wood is in each box?
The Old Potters box holds 1.5 cu ft at about 40 lb. The Firewood Central bundle is 39.5 lb of 30 to 35 splits, with no volume stated.
Is hickory good for cooking?
The Firewood Central listing is built for it, stating bold smoke for pizza ovens, BBQ and smokers. The Old Potters listing names fireplaces, stoves, fire pits, Solo Stove and chimineas instead.
Related guides
See the birch vs elm firewood and aspen vs birch firewood comparisons for the birch side, and the maple vs pine firewood comparison for another species head-to-head.



