Best Stove Pipe for a Wood Stove (2026): 5 Compared
Five stove pipes compared for wood stoves: diameter, wall construction, certification and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
SafestDuraVent DuraPlus 6in9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
Best ConnectorDuraVent DVL 6in9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best ExtensionGuide Gear Extension9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
LargestUS HDW 8×249.4/10View on Amazon - 5
Tent PickAVOFOREST 5-Pc9.3/10View on Amazon - 6
Duravent Double-Wall Stovepipe DVL46-TA Telescoping ChimneyView on Amazon - 7
3~ Stove Pipe 6" Dia. x 24" Long Black Stove Pipe 24 GaugeView on Amazon - 8
LEIFIDE 4 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeView on Amazon - 9
LEIFIDE 2 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeView on Amazon - 10
LEIFIDE 1 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeView on Amazon
A wood stove is only as safe as its chimney. The best stove pipe for a wood stove matches your stove’s flue diameter exactly, keeps flue gases hot for a strong draft, resists creosote corrosion, and meets the safety standards your insurance and local code require. We compared five stove pipes by what the listings state: diameter, wall construction, material, length, weight, certification and warranty. Diameters run 2.36 to 8 inches; one is UL listed to UL 103HT; one carries a limited lifetime warranty.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Safest DuraVent DuraPlus 6in: UL 103HT, triple-wall, lifetime warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Connector DuraVent DVL 6in: 6-inch double-wall, 18-gauge. Check price on Amazon
- Best Extension Guide Gear Extension: Raises the Guide Gear chimney. Check price on Amazon
- Largest US HDW 8×24: 8-inch black pipe, USA made. Check price on Amazon
- Tent Pick AVOFOREST 5-Pc: 2.36-inch stainless kit with elbow. Check price on Amazon
The picks

DuraVent DuraPlus 6" Diameter 24" Length DuraVent
A 6-inch triple-wall insulated chimney pipe, 24 inches, UL 103HT listed, with limited lifetime warranty.
Pros
- UL 103HT listed for wood stoves
- Triple-wall with ceramic insulation
- 2-inch clearance to combustibles
- Limited lifetime warranty
Cons
- 11.5 lb is the heaviest here
- Premium price for the listing
- 6-inch only; no other diameter
- Installed length is 1.5 in shorter

Duravent Double-Wall Stovepipe DVL
A 6-inch double-wall stovepipe, 24 inches, 18-gauge steel for interior connector runs.
Pros
- Double-wall for better draft
- 6-inch fits standard stoves
- 18-gauge steel construction
- 6.08 lb, manageable weight
Cons
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Not for wall penetrations alone
- Black finish shows dust

Guide Gear Outdoor Wood Stove Pipe Extension
A 2-piece 3.375-inch extension set, 16.5 inches each, for the Guide Gear outdoor stove.
Pros
- Raises existing chimney height
- Heat and corrosion resistant
- Black finish matches the stove
- Simple slip-fit assembly
Cons
- Only fits the Guide Gear stove
- 3.375 in is not standard
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
Pros
- 8-inch for larger stoves
- Made in the USA
- Simple black pipe
- 24-inch length
Cons
- No specifications are stated
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- 8 in fits few residential stoves
Pros
- Stainless steel, rust resistant
- Includes 90-degree elbow
- 5 pieces for flexible routing
- Lightweight for packing
Cons
- 2.36 in is too small for wood stoves
- Tent stove only, not residential
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
More options to compare
Duravent Double-Wall Stovepipe DVL46-TA Telescoping ChimneyCheck price on Amazon
3~ Stove Pipe 6" Dia. x 24" Long Black Stove Pipe 24 GaugeCheck price on Amazon
LEIFIDE 4 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeCheck price on Amazon
LEIFIDE 2 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeCheck price on Amazon
LEIFIDE 1 Pcs Black Matte Stove PipeCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Pipe | Diameter | Wall | Certification (stated) | Warranty (stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DuraVent DuraPlus 6in | 6 in | Triple | UL 103HT | Limited lifetime |
| DuraVent DVL 6in | 6 in | Double | Not stated | Not stated |
| Guide Gear Extension | 3.375 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| US HDW 8×24 | 8 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| AVOFOREST 5-Pc | 2.36 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 21 October 2026. Installed length may differ from nominal; the DuraVent DuraPlus notes a 1.5 inch difference.
How we scored them
Each pipe is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. For a wood stove, performance weighs correct diameter and wall construction; safety weighs stated certifications. Only the DuraVent DuraPlus states a UL listing and a warranty.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DuraVent DuraPlus 6in | 9.8 | 34 | 22 | 20 | 10 | 5 |
| DuraVent DVL 6in | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Guide Gear Extension | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| US HDW 8×24 | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| AVOFOREST 5-Pc | 9.3 | 24 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We compared five stove pipes. Diameters are 2.36, 3.375, 6 (two picks) and 8 inches. Wall types include triple-wall insulated, double-wall and single-wall. One states UL 103HT; one states a limited lifetime warranty; the others state no certification or warranty.
Buying guide: the best stove pipe for a wood stove
Match the diameter
Most residential wood stoves use a 6-inch flue, and both DuraVent picks here are 6-inch: the DuraPlus triple-wall and the DVL double-wall. The Guide Gear extension is 3.375 inches, sized for its outdoor stove, not a standard flue. The AVOFOREST is 2.36 inches, a tent-stove size that would choke a residential stove. The US HDW is 8 inches, for larger stoves and furnaces. Using a smaller diameter than the stove outlet chokes the draft, cools the flue gases, and accelerates creosote buildup; using a larger diameter slows the gases and can cause poor draft. The rule is simple: match the stove’s outlet exactly. Check the manual or measure the flue collar before ordering, because a wrong-size pipe is a return and a delay in heating season.
Single, double or triple wall
The DuraVent DuraPlus is triple-wall with a stainless inner liner, ceramic blanket insulation and air space: it keeps flue gases hot for a strong draft while the outer wall stays cool, needing only 2-inch clearance to combustibles. That 2-inch clearance is the key number; single-wall pipe needs 18 inches, which most rooms cannot provide. The DuraVent DVL is double-wall, a step up from single-wall for the interior connector run from stove to ceiling. Single-wall pipe is for that connector only, never for passing through walls, ceilings or roofs. For the full chimney above the roof, insulated triple-wall like the DuraPlus is the safe and code-compliant choice. Do not mix unlisted single-wall into a listed system; the listing applies to the complete assembly.
Certification matters
The DuraVent DuraPlus is UL listed to UL 103HT (file MH7399), rated for continuous 1,000°F flue temperatures and 2,100°F chimney fire survival. That means it has survived the laboratory furnace that simulates a creosote fire; unlisted pipe has not. No other pick here states a certification. For an indoor wood stove, a listed chimney is not optional: it is what your homeowner’s insurance requires, what local code enforces, and what a home inspector checks at sale. An unlisted chimney can void coverage after a fire. Do not substitute unlisted pipe for a listed chimney system to save money; the DuraPlus costs more because it has earned the listing.
Creosote and cleaning
Creosote is the tar that condenses from wood smoke on cool flue walls; it is flammable and causes chimney fires. Hot flue gases from insulated pipe like the DuraPlus reduce condensation, which means less creosote. Single-wall and uninsulated pipe run cooler and accumulate faster. Inspect the pipe monthly during heating season and clean when the buildup is thick. A chimney brush matched to your diameter (6-inch for the DuraVent picks) and a creosote remover keep it safe. Never burn trash, treated lumber or wet wood; they accelerate buildup.
Material and durability
The DuraPlus uses a stainless steel inner liner with galvanized outer and ceramic insulation between; the stainless faces the corrosive flue gases while the galvanized handles the weather. The DVL is 18-gauge galvanized and stainless steel, heavier gauge than cheap single-wall. The AVOFOREST is stainless steel throughout, which suits its outdoor and tent use. Stainless resists creosote’s acidic corrosion far better than plain black steel, which is why the DuraPlus liner is stainless. The Guide Gear is heat-resistant steel with a black finish for outdoor use. Thicker gauge and stainless cost more upfront but add years to the chimney’s life.
Length and installation
The DuraVent picks are 24-inch nominal lengths; the DuraPlus notes that installed length is 1.5 inches shorter due to the twist-lock overlap, so account for that when planning height. The twist-lock itself is a real advantage: die-formed ends that join with a twist, no sealant, no screws, and a joint that stays tight through heat cycles. The Guide Gear is a 2-piece extension, each 16.5 inches, to raise an existing chimney for better draft. The AVOFOREST kit has 4 straight pipes plus a 90-degree elbow for routing around obstacles. Plan the full run from stove collar to chimney cap before ordering, including the 3-foot minimum above the roof penetration and 2 feet above anything nearby. Buy all lengths, elbows, supports and the cap at once; a mid-project shortage in January is miserable.
Install stoves and inserts to the manufacturer's instructions and your local code, usually by a certified installer with a permit and inspection. Keep the listed clearances to combustibles, run working smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, have the chimney inspected and cleaned every year to prevent creosote fires, burn only seasoned wood, and check local burn rules. See EPA Burn Wise, NFPA heating safety, CPSC carbon monoxide guidance and the Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA). Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size stove pipe do I need?
Match your stove’s flue outlet, usually 6 inches for wood stoves. Never reduce the diameter; it chokes the draft and creates creosote.
Can I use single-wall pipe through a wall?
No. Single-wall is for the interior connector only. Use insulated (triple-wall) or double-wall for wall and ceiling penetrations, with proper clearances.
What does UL 103HT mean?
It is the safety standard for residential wood stove chimneys, proving continuous high-temperature endurance and chimney fire survival. The DuraPlus meets it.
How often should I clean the pipe?
Inspect monthly in heating season; clean when the creosote buildup is thick. Hot flue gases from insulated pipe reduce buildup.
Is the 2.36-inch pipe for a wood stove?
No. The AVOFOREST 2.36-inch is for tent stoves. A full-size wood stove needs 6-inch.
Can I install it myself?
A straight vertical chimney with proper clearances is a competent DIY project; follow the manufacturer’s instructions exactly. Any wall penetration, roof flashing or masonry connection deserves a professional. When in doubt, hire a certified chimney sweep for the installation inspection.
Woodlot Notes
Buy the chimney in fall before you need it in January. Measure twice, order once, and never compromise on the safety listing: an unlisted chimney is a gamble with your house and everyone in it.
Keep the flue clean and the draft strong all winter long, every year.
Related: chimney brush for a wood stove and creosote remover. Cap it with a chimney cap.




