Best 14 Inch Electric Chainsaw (2026): 5 Picks for Firewood
Five 14-inch electric chainsaws compared on power, cuts per charge, safety features and warranty, from a 10A corded saw to a 48V dual-battery cordless.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallSENIX 14-Inch Corded9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Runner-UpV-MODEST 40V Dual Battery9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Corded ValueWEN 10-Amp Corded9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Most CutsGreenworks 48V Dual Battery9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Compact PickGreenworks 40V 2.5Ah9.4/10View on Amazon - 6
WEN CP1216 Electric ChainsawView on Amazon - 7
WEN Electric ChainsawView on Amazon - 8
WORX Electric ChainsawView on Amazon - 9
2-in-1 Cordless Pole SawView on Amazon
Fall is when the woodpile gets honest. The rounds you cut in spring are seasoned, the stove is waiting, and every stick still in log length is a job for the saw. For limbing, bucking small logs and storm cleanup around the property, a 14-inch electric saw is the right size: enough bar for firewood, none of the gas saw’s fuss. No mixing fuel, no starter rope, no carburetor to gum up over winter; push a button or pull a trigger and the chain moves. This guide to the best 14 inch electric chainsaw compares five 14-inch electrics on what each listing states: power, cuts per charge, safety features and warranty.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall SENIX 14-Inch Corded: 14 in corded saw with 10A motor, kickback brake and 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Runner-Up V-MODEST 40V Dual Battery: 40V cordless with 2 5.0Ah batteries, chain brake and 1 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Corded Value WEN 10-Amp Corded: 10A corded saw at 34 ft/s with kickback brake and two-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Most Cuts Greenworks 48V Dual Battery: 48V cordless, up to 150 cuts on 4×4 per charge. Check price on Amazon
- Compact Pick Greenworks 40V 2.5Ah: 40V cordless at 7.6 lbs with brushless motor. Check price on Amazon
The picks

SENIX Electric Chainsaw, 14" Corded
A 14-inch corded saw with a 10-Amp motor, kickback brake and 3-year limited warranty.
Pros
- 3-year limited warranty stated
- Trigger lockout and kickback brake
- Unlimited runtime on 120V
- 5.8 oz oil tank with window
Cons
- Corded, needs an outlet
- 7.9 lbs, heaviest cordless-weight class
- No stated chain speed
- No tool-free tensioning stated

40V Battery Powered Chainsaw 14 Inch Cordless
A 40V cordless saw with 2 5.0Ah batteries, brushless motor and chain brake.
Pros
- 2x5.0Ah batteries, biggest here
- 90 to 100 cuts stated
- Safety lock and chain brake
- 1 Year Warranty stated
Cons
- No stated cut count on 4x4
- 7.6 lbs with batteries
- Newer brand, thin track record
- No stated chain speed

WEN Electric Chainsaw, Corded,10-Amp
A 10-Amp corded saw with 34 ft/s chain speed, kickback brake and two-year warranty.
Pros
- 34 ft/s chain speed stated
- Kickback brake
- Two-year warranty stated
- Tool-free chain tensioning
Cons
- Corded, needs an outlet
- No stated weight
- No stated oil tank size
- No trigger lockout stated

Greenworks 48V 14 in Cordless Electric Chainsaw
A 48V cordless saw with dual 4.0Ah batteries and up to 150 cuts per charge.
Pros
- 150 cuts per charge stated
- Dual 4.0Ah batteries
- Brushless motor
- Tool-free tensioning
Cons
- No safety features stated
- No warranty term stated
- 5.2 kg, heavy for cordless
- Dual-battery cost of entry
More options to compare
WEN CP1216 Electric ChainsawCheck price on Amazon
WEN Electric ChainsawCheck price on Amazon
WORX Electric ChainsawCheck price on Amazon
2-in-1 Cordless Pole SawCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Power | Bar | Cuts / chain speed | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SENIX 14-Inch Corded | 10A corded | 14 in | Unlimited runtime | 7.9 lbs | 3-year |
| V-MODEST 40V Dual Battery | 40V 2×5.0Ah | 14 in | 90 to 100 cuts | 7.6 lbs | 1 Year |
| WEN 10-Amp Corded | 10A corded | 14 in | 34 ft/s | Not stated | Two-year |
| Greenworks 48V Dual Battery | 48V 2×4.0Ah | 14 in | 150 cuts | 5.2 kg | Not stated |
| Greenworks 40V 2.5Ah | 40V 2.5Ah | 14 in | 75 cuts | 7.6 lbs | Not stated |
21 October 2026
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
Each saw is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Corded and cordless are scored on the same scale: runtime means unlimited wall power for the SENIX and WEN, and stated cuts per charge for the battery saws. Stated power, cuts per charge, safety features and warranty terms earn the most; nothing stated on safety or warranty means no points there.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SENIX 14-Inch Corded | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 19 | 7 | 4 |
| V-MODEST 40V Dual Battery | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 6 | 3 |
| WEN 10-Amp Corded | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
| Greenworks 48V Dual Battery | 9.5 | 32 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Greenworks 40V 2.5Ah | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Buying guide: best 14 inch electric chainsaw
Corded or cordless
Two of the five plug into the wall; three run on batteries. The corded SENIX and WEN give uninterrupted runtime: a 10-Amp motor on a 120-volt outlet that never needs charging, which suits long bucking sessions near the house or barn. The cordless Greenworks and V-MODEST saws trade that for freedom: no cord to drag through brush, with cuts per charge stated at 75, 150, and 90 to 100 on 4×4 lumber. If your cutting happens within cord reach of an outlet, corded is the simpler machine. If it happens at the back of the property, cordless earns its batteries.
Bar length: why 14 inch
Fourteen inches is the firewood compromise. Shorter bars are limbing toys; longer bars want a gas powerhead behind them. A 14-inch bar bucks the rounds a homeowner actually cuts, limbs without the nose getting buried, and keeps the saw light enough to run all afternoon. Step up to bigger wood regularly and the answer is a bigger saw, not a longer bar on these powerheads. Every saw here carries the same 14-inch bar, so the comparison comes down to power, runtime and features rather than size.
Power and what it cuts
All five swing a 14-inch bar, the firewood size: enough for bucking rounds and limbing, short of felling big timber. On power, the corded pair state 10-Amp motors; the WEN spins its chain up to 34 feet per second. The cordless saws state voltage and battery: 40V with 2.5Ah on the small Greenworks, 48V with dual 4.0Ah on the big one, 40V with dual 5.0Ah on the V-MODEST. Brushless motors are stated on both Greenworks saws and the V-MODEST. For firewood cutting, limbing and storm cleanup, the uses every listing names, any of the five has the bar for it. The corded pair never fade: wall power does not sag the way a dying battery does at the end of a charge. The cordless trio trade that for mobility, and the cut counts tell you how far each charge goes.
Safety features, stated
Three listings name real safety hardware. The SENIX has a handle-mounted trigger lockout and an automatic kickback brake. The WEN has a kickback brake. The V-MODEST has dual safety protection with a safety lock and a chain brake. The two Greenworks listings state no safety features, which costs them here. A chain brake is the feature you hope never to need and miss most when it is absent. Note the gap honestly: the two Greenworks saws, both brushless and both capable, state no safety hardware at all, which is why they sit below the SENIX, V-MODEST and WEN in this ranking despite strong cut counts.
Warranty terms
Three listings put a term on it: 3-year limited on the SENIX, two-year on the WEN, and 1 Year on the V-MODEST. Both Greenworks listings state no warranty term. For a tool that lives in a shed and works in all weather, a stated warranty is worth real weight in the scoring. Three years against one year is not a small difference when the tool earns its keep every burning season.
Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Around the Woodpile
- Keep the chain oiled: the SENIX, both Greenworks and V-MODEST listings state automatic oilers; check the oil level window the SENIX names before a cutting session.
- Store with the scabbard on: the Greenworks, SENIX and V-MODEST listings include bar covers or scabbards for safe storage.
- Match the saw to the wood: 14-inch bars suit limbing, bucking small logs and storm cleanup, the uses these listings name.
- Charge or plug in before you start: cordless saws state cuts per charge, corded saws need a 120-volt outlet within reach.
- Check the chain tension: tool-free tensioning is stated on the Greenworks 48V, WEN and V-MODEST; a loose chain is a thrown chain.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a 14-inch electric chainsaw cut firewood?
The listings here name firewood cutting, limbing, pruning and storm cleanup as the uses. A 14-inch bar handles bucking rounds and limbs; it is not a felling saw for large timber, and none of the listings claim that.
How many cuts will a battery chainsaw make?
The listings state up to 75 cuts on 4×4 lumber for the Greenworks 40V, up to 150 cuts for the Greenworks 48V, and 90 to 100 cuts on standard lumber for the V-MODEST, each on a single charge. Real counts vary with wood hardness and chain sharpness.
Do electric chainsaws need bar oil?
Yes. The SENIX, both Greenworks and V-MODEST listings state automatic oilers, and the SENIX names a 5.8 oz oil tank with a level window. The WEN states an auto-oiling system as well. Check the oil before cutting, the same as any saw.
Corded or cordless for storm cleanup?
The corded SENIX and WEN never run out of power at a 120-volt outlet, which suits long cleanup sessions near the house. The cordless saws go where the cord cannot, with the Greenworks 48V stating the most cuts per charge here at 150.
Do I need to buy bar oil separately?
The listings state automatic oilers but only the SENIX names its tank at 5.8 oz. None of the five lists bar oil in the box, so plan on buying it with the saw. Running a chain dry ruins both the chain and the bar sooner than anything else in this guide.
What does the kickback brake do?
It stops the chain when kickback occurs. The SENIX lists an automatic kickback brake, the WEN lists a kickback brake, and the V-MODEST lists a chain brake with a safety lock. The two Greenworks listings state no brake.
Related guides
See the chainsaw hub, then split what you cut with the best log splitters for home use or the best splitting mauls. Keep the chain oiled with the best bar oil for a pole saw and sharp with the best low kickback chainsaw chain.




