Stihl Chainsaw Alternatives: Which One Should You Buy?
Stihl chainsaw alternatives explained: how a battery mini saw with 6 in and 8 in chains and an 18 in Husqvarna battery saw compare on bar, battery and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
4 Inch Mini Chainsaw Chain for Stihl GTA 26 4 Inch9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Oregon 14" Bar & Chainsaw Chain Combo9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Dunhil 4 Pack 16 Inch Chainsaw Chains 3/8 043 55dl R55 For9.4/10View on Amazon
Come late summer, the woodpile decides the saw. If your old saw is tired and you are not set on the Stihl badge, stihl chainsaw alternatives come down to matching a different brand’s saw to the work: a light battery mini saw for limbing and pruning, or a full-size battery saw for bucking firewood rounds. The two reference listings below show the shape of that choice, a 6 and 8 in Dewalt-20V mini saw at 2.8 lb against an 18 in Husqvarna battery saw at 7.7 lb.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Stihl chainsaw alternatives: the short answer
Buy the saw for the job, not the badge. For limbing, pruning and cutting branches, a compact battery mini saw with 6 and 8 in bars does the work at a fraction of the weight. For bucking rounds into firewood lengths, you want a full-size saw with a long bar and a battery and charger in the box. Either way, compare bar length, battery platform, weight and warranty from the listings, because those four decide whether the saw fits your woodpile.
Match the saw to the work
| Spec | BITOON mini (Dewalt 20V) | Husqvarna Power Axe 350i |
|---|---|---|
| Bar | 6 in and 8 in, 2-in-1 | 18 in (title; spec table says 14 in) |
| Battery | Dewalt 20V MAX, not included | B140 4 Ah battery and charger included |
| Weight | 2.8 lb, tool only | 7.7 lb |
| Motor | 800W brushless, 8 m/s chain speed | Brushless, 1.9 hp, Boost Mode adds 25 percent |
| Oiler | Automatic | Not stated |
| Warranty | 24 months limited | Not stated |
The table tells the story in one glance: the mini saw is a compact limbing tool that borrows a battery you already own, while the Husqvarna is a complete kit built for bigger wood. Neither listing is a gas saw, so if your alternative has to burn fuel, keep looking.
Battery platform matters more than the badge
The BITOON mini saw runs on Dewalt 20V MAX batteries, and the battery is not in the box. That is a fine deal if Dewalt 20V tools already live in your shop, and a poor one if you would be buying into a new platform for one saw. The listing adds low-voltage protection that shuts the saw down if the pack drops below 14.4V. The Husqvarna ships as a kit: the B140 4 Ah battery and a charger come with the saw, so there is no platform question to answer.
Bar length and the cut
Bar length sets the wood a saw can handle in one pass. The mini saw’s 6 and 8 in bars suit branches, brush and small rounds, and the listing says it cuts 4 inches of wood in 6 seconds with up to 70 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure treated wood using a 20V MAX 4Ah battery. The Husqvarna is titled as an 18 in saw with an 18 in chain length, but its spec table lists the bar length as 14 in; trust the title and bullets over the spec table and confirm the real bar with the seller. Its X-Cut chain and tool-less tensioning are stated, and Boost Mode adds 25 percent more power at the push of a button.
The details that separate listings
An automatic oiler, stated on the mini saw, keeps the chain lubricated while it runs; the Husqvarna listing does not state one. Tool-free chain tensioning appears on both listings, which matters when a chain stretches mid-morning. On warranty, the mini saw states 24 months limited while the Husqvarna listing states no term. On weight, 2.8 lb against 7.7 lb is the difference between a saw you carry all afternoon and a saw you set down between cuts.
What’s in the box
The BITOON ships as a tools-only kit: the saw with the 6 in bar and chain already installed, plus a separate 8 in bar and 8 in chain, a scabbard, a user manual and the stated 24-month limited warranty. You supply the Dewalt 20V MAX battery. The Husqvarna ships as a complete kit: the saw, the B140 4 Ah battery, a charger and the owner’s manual in one package. On overall size, the listings state 17.7 in long for the mini saw against 18.9 in for the Husqvarna, which matches the compact limbing tool versus full-size saw split.
Safety gear before the first cut
Whatever badge is on the bar, the gear list does not change: chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots before the saw starts. Learn what kickback is and how your saw’s chain brake works, and never cut alone. This guide does not cover felling technique; that belongs in the saw manual and in-person training.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a 6-inch mini saw replace a full-size chainsaw for firewood?
No. The mini saw’s listing pitches it for trimming branches from downed trees, cutting bundles of wood and managing brush, with 6 and 8 in bars. Bucking rounds into stove lengths is full-size saw work; see our best chainsaw for firewood picks.
What does the 18-inch vs 14-inch bar listing mean?
The Husqvarna title and chain length say 18 in, but the spec table lists the bar length as 14 in. We trust the title and bullets over the spec table, so treat it as an 18 in saw and confirm the bar with the seller before you buy.
Do I need to own Dewalt batteries already?
For the BITOON mini saw, effectively yes: it runs on Dewalt 20V MAX batteries and the battery is not included. The Husqvarna 350i ships with its B140 4 Ah battery and charger, so it needs no existing platform. Browse battery options in our battery chainsaws section.
What is Boost Mode on the Husqvarna 350i?
A button that adds 25 percent more power when you need it, per the listing. It is a feature of that saw, not a standard chainsaw term.
What chain and bar sizes do the listings state?
The BITOON is a 2-in-1 with 6 in and 8 in bars and chains; the 6 in set comes installed on the saw. The Husqvarna is titled as an 18 in saw with an 18 in chain length, though the spec table says 14 in for the bar, so trust the title and confirm with the seller. The Husqvarna’s chain is 3/8 in Mini Pixel pitch at .043 in gauge, per the spec table.
How many cuts does the mini saw get per charge?
Up to 70 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure treated wood using a 20V MAX 4Ah battery, per the BITOON listing. That is the maker’s figure for small wood, not for bucking rounds.
Related guides
See every chainsaws guide and all chainsaw gear guides. Cutting your own? Start with the best chainsaw for firewood and compare power sources in battery chainsaws.



