Cant Hook vs Log Jack: Which One Should You Buy?
A cant hook vs log jack comparison across three logging tools: lengths, weights, lift capacity and warranties, from what each listing states.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Wood-Mizer Steel Cant Hook9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
SPEED FORCE 47 Inch TimberJack Forestry/Logging/Log9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Timberjack Log Roller Lifter9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
Wood-Mizer Steel Cant HookView on Amazon - 5
WOODCHUCK Wct03 Timberjack Peavey and Cant HookView on Amazon - 6
Timber Claw HookView on Amazon - 7
2 Serrated Claw HookView on Amazon - 8
Ironton Wooden Handle Cant HookView on Amazon - 9
Claw HookView on Amazon
Verdict: Choose a cant hook if you mainly roll and reposition logs: the OAOLOWF 58-inch hook is the lightest at 9.5 lb with 3 years of after-sales service, while the HOTYELL 3-in-1 adds peavey and pickaroon functions at 60 inches. Choose the log jack (Woodchuck TimberPro) if you cut rounds and want them off the dirt: it lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches and carries a lifetime warranty.
Come splitting season, every log on the pile needs rolling, lifting or both, and the cant hook vs log jack question is really about which motion you do most. A cant hook rolls logs with a hooked arm and a long handle; a log jack, or timberjack, lifts one end off the ground so you can cut without hitting dirt. This comparison scores three listings on what each states: two cant hooks and one log jack.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.
| # | Product | Woodlot Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Woodchuck Tool TimberPro Timberjack. | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Cant Hook - 58" Heavy Logging Tool Log Roller Tool | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | 60 in Steel Cant Hook, 3-in-1 Logging Tool | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Woodchuck Tool TimberPro Timberjack.
A log jack that lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches and rolls logs up to 20 inches, with a lifetime warranty.
Pros
- Lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches off the ground
- Rolls logs up to 20 inches with cant teeth
- Toe lift for repositioning the hook
- Lifetime warranty stated
Cons
- Bullets say 47 in and 10 lb; spec table says 48 in and 10.1 lb
- No jaw opening figure stated
- Single tool, no peavey or pickaroon function
- Heavier than the OAOLOWF hook

Cant Hook - 58" Heavy Logging Tool Log Roller Tool
A 58-inch cant hook with a hardwood handle and 16-inch retractable opening, the lightest tool here.
Pros
- 58 in length with hardwood handle
- 16-inch retractable opening
- Lightest here at 9.5 lb
- 3 years after-sales service stated
Cons
- No lifting function stated
- No pickaroon function
- 2.5 in handle diameter may suit large hands best
- Orange paint wears with use

60 in Steel Cant Hook, 3-in-1 Logging Tool
A 60-inch 3-in-1 steel tool switching between cant hook, peavey and pickaroon, the heaviest here.
Pros
- Three functions: cant hook, peavey, pickaroon
- 60 in length, high-carbon steel
- Longer, denser hook teeth for grip
- Quick-change pins and latches, no extra tools
Cons
- Heaviest here at 15.17 lb
- No warranty term is stated
- No lifting height stated
- Switching mechanism adds parts to maintain
More options to compare
Wood-Mizer Steel Cant HookCheck price on Amazon
WOODCHUCK Wct03 Timberjack Peavey and Cant HookCheck price on Amazon
Timber Claw HookCheck price on Amazon
2 Serrated Claw HookCheck price on Amazon
Ironton Wooden Handle Cant HookCheck price on Amazon
Claw HookCheck price on Amazon
Side by side
| Factor | Cant hook | Log jack | Stated by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Example listings | HOTYELL 3-in-1 60 in; OAOLOWF 58 in | Woodchuck TimberPro | Listings |
| Length | 60 in (HOTYELL); 58 in (OAOLOWF) | 47 in (bullets; spec table 48 in) | Listings |
| Weight | 15.17 lb (HOTYELL); 9.5 lb (OAOLOWF) | 10 lb (bullets; spec table 10.1 lb) | Listings |
| Lifting | Not stated | Lifts logs 5 to 20 in | TimberPro listing |
| Rolling | Rolls logs with the hook | Rolls logs up to 20 in | Listings |
| Jaw opening | 16 in retractable (OAOLOWF) | Not stated | OAOLOWF listing |
| Warranty | 3 years after-sales (OAOLOWF); none stated (HOTYELL) | Lifetime | Listings |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026.
cant hook vs log jack: what separates them
The cant hook side is about rolling. The OAOLOWF is the classic form: a 58-inch hardwood handle, a peavey point and a retractable 16-inch opening that grips the log while you roll it. The HOTYELL stretches the idea to 60 inches of steel and three functions, switching between cant hook, log peavey and pickaroon with pins and latches. The log jack side is about lifting: the Woodchuck TimberPro raises logs from 5 to 20 inches and rolls logs up to 20 inches, with cant teeth that hold the log still while you cut.
Length, weight and lift
Handles run 47 to 60 inches here: 60 for the HOTYELL, 58 for the OAOLOWF, and 47 inches in the TimberPro bullets (48 in the spec table). Weights run 9.5 to 15.17 pounds: the OAOLOWF is lightest at 9.5, the TimberPro lists 10 pounds in the bullets, and the HOTYELL is heaviest at 15.17. Only the TimberPro states a lift figure, 5 to 20 inches; neither cant hook listing claims to lift. A longer handle gives more leverage for rolling, at the cost of weight and storage length.
Warranty and extras
The TimberPro states a lifetime warranty, the strongest term here. The OAOLOWF states 3 years of after-sales service. The HOTYELL states no warranty term. On extras, the HOTYELL offers the 3-in-1 switching, the OAOLOWF offers the retractable 16-inch opening and high-visibility orange powder coat, and the TimberPro offers the toe lift for repositioning the hook.
Three examples
How we scored them
Each example is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page. None of these listings states a safety certification, so every tool here scores zero on that criterion; the ranking comes from the other four.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woodchuck TimberPro | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 4 |
| OAOLOWF 58 in Cant Hook | 9.7 | 28 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 3 |
| HOTYELL 3-in-1 60 in | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Lift with your legs, not your back, and get help or a mechanical aid for big rounds. Respect each tool's rated capacity, keep feet clear of rolling logs, and wear gloves against splinters. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Matching the tool to your woodpile
Start with what you actually do. If you fell and buck your own trees, the log jack earns its place: the TimberPro lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches off the ground and rolls logs up to 20 inches, which keeps the chain out of the dirt and your back out of the bend. For splitting and stacking, a cant hook is the faster tool: roll the log, position it, move on. The 60 in HOTYELL at 15.17 lb is the heavy lifter for big wood; the 9.5 lb OAOLOWF is the one you grab for routine rolling. If you only buy firewood in rounds and split at home, the cant hook is enough. If you cut your own, the log jack pays for itself the first time you buck a log you would otherwise have rolled by hand. Buy the tool for the work you do most, not the work you imagine.
What the warranty tells you
The warranty terms are a quiet signal of how the maker rates its own tool. The Woodchuck TimberPro carries a stated lifetime warranty: the strongest backing here, and it matches the tool’s job, since a log jack takes real abuse. The OAOLOWF states 3 years of after-sales service: solid for a 9.5 lb hardwood-handled hook. The HOTYELL states no warranty term, which is the gap to weigh against its 3-in-1 steel design. A missing warranty does not mean a bad tool, but it means the maker did not put the promise in writing. When two tools do the same job, the longer written warranty is the tiebreaker; when they do different jobs, buy the function first and treat the warranty as a bonus.
Around the Woodpile
- Match the tool to the task: the cant hooks for rolling and stacking, the TimberPro for lifting rounds to cut.
- The TimberPro lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches; work within what the listing states.
- Check the hook teeth and the HOTYELL pivot pins and latches on arrival; they should move freely and lock.
- The OAOLOWF handle is hardwood: store it dry and out of the weather.
- Keep feet clear when rolling logs, and work on level ground.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between a cant hook and a log jack?
A cant hook rolls and repositions logs with a hooked arm; a log jack, or timberjack, lifts one end of the log off the ground. In these listings, the two cant hooks state rolling functions while the TimberPro states lifting logs from 5 to 20 inches.
Can a cant hook lift a log?
Not per these listings. Neither cant hook listing states a lifting function or height. For lifting, the TimberPro log jack states 5 to 20 inches.
What size log can the TimberPro handle?
The listing states it lifts logs from 5 to 20 inches and rolls logs up to 20 inches. The cant teeth hold the log from rolling while you cut.
Which tool here has the longest warranty?
The Woodchuck TimberPro, with a stated lifetime warranty. The OAOLOWF states 3 years of after-sales service, and the HOTYELL states no warranty term.
Is the 60-inch HOTYELL too heavy at 15.17 lb?
It is the heaviest of the three against 9.5 lb for the OAOLOWF and 10 lb for the TimberPro. The weight buys the 3-in-1 steel design; if you only roll logs, the lighter hook does the job.
Related guides
See our pulp hook for firewood picks, best log tongs for lifting firewood rounds, and log cart vs wheelbarrow for firewood.





