Best Pole Saw Chain Under $20 (2026): 5 Chains Compared
Five pole saw chains under $20 compared by length, pitch, gauge, drive links and stated kickback standards, in 3-packs and 5-packs.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallKAKEI 8 in 34DL 3-pack9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best DeWalt FitSawWorks 8 in 34DL 3-pack9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best 5-PackJINFFR 10 in 40DL 5-pack9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Multi-Fit 10 inSavior 10 in 40DL 3-pack9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best Name BrandOregon S39 10 in chain9.5/10View on Amazon - 6
4 Pack 8 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .043" Gauge 33View on Amazon - 7
8Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .050" Gauge 33 Drive LinksView on Amazon - 8
3 Pack 12 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .043" Gauge 44View on Amazon - 9
KAKEI 12 Inch Chainsaw Chain fits Stihl 1/4" LP Pitch .043"View on Amazon
A dull chain makes a pole saw miserable, and a new chain costs less than lunch. This best pole saw chain under 20 roundup compares five replacement chains by length, pitch, gauge, drive links and stated kickback standards, in 3-packs and a 5-pack that keep spares on the shelf.
At this price every pick is a multi-pack except the Oregon single, so the comparison is really about which spec matches your bar. The four numbers on the bar stamp decide everything, and the listings that state a kickback standard give you something checkable beyond marketing adjectives.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall KAKEI 8 in 34DL 3-pack: 8 in 3-pack with stated ANSI B175.1 and CSA Z62.3 kickback compliance, German steel and chrome-plated cutters. Check price on Amazon
- Best DeWalt Fit SawWorks 8 in 34DL 3-pack: 8 in 3-pack with stated ANSI and CSA kickback compliance for DeWalt pole saws. Check price on Amazon
- Best 5-Pack JINFFR 10 in 40DL 5-pack: 10 in 5-pack fitting many brands with low kickback ANSI standards stated. Check price on Amazon
- Best Multi-Fit 10 in Savior 10 in 40DL 3-pack: 10 in 3-pack fitting WORX, Sun Joe, Makita, Husqvarna and more, with gloves in the box. Check price on Amazon
- Best Name Brand Oregon S39 10 in chain: 10 in chain with Lubri-Tec oiling and low-vibration stated, fitting many 10-inch bars. Check price on Amazon
The picks

KAKEI Pole Saw Chain 8 Inch 3/8" LP Pitch .043"
Three 8 in pole saw chains, 3/8 in LP pitch, .043 in gauge, 34 drive links, with stated ANSI and CSA kickback compliance.
Pros
- States ANSI B175.1 and CSA Z62.3 compliance
- German steel with chrome-plated cutters stated
- 3-pack for the price of one
- Fits DeWalt and Craftsman pole saws
Cons
- 8 in only
- No warranty term is stated
- Semi-chisel only, no full chisel option
- Support contact is the only help stated

Sawworks 8 Inch Pole Saw Chain Fits Dewalt
Three 8 in pole saw chains, 3/8 in LP pitch, .043 in gauge, 34 drive links, with stated ANSI and CSA kickback compliance.
Pros
- States ANSI B175.1 and CSA Z62.3 compliance
- German steel, chrome-plated cutters stated
- Hardened rivets stated
- 3-pack value
Cons
- 8 in only
- No warranty term is stated
- DeWalt-focused fit list
- Near-identical spec to the KAKEI

5 Pack 10 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8"LP Pitch .043"
Five 10 in chainsaw chains, 3/8 in LP pitch, .043 in gauge, 40 drive links, fitting many brands.
Pros
- 5-pack, the most chains here
- Fits Worx, EGO, Milwaukee, Ryobi, Husqvarna and more
- Low kickback ANSI standards stated
- German steel, chrome-plated stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 10 in only
- Semi-chisel only
- After-sale service is the only support stated

Savior 3PC 10 Inch Chainsaw Chain
Three 10 in chainsaw chains, 3/8 in LP pitch, .050 in gauge, 40 drive links, with storage bags and gloves.
Pros
- Fits WORX, Sun Joe, Makita, Husqvarna and more
- Storage bags and gloves in the box
- Low-kickback semi-chisel stated
- 3-pack value
Cons
- Gloves stated not anti-cut
- .050 gauge only
- No warranty term is stated
- 10 in only

Oregon Chainsaw Chain for 10" Bar, 3/8" LP
A single 10 in Oregon chain, 3/8 in LP pitch, .050 in gauge, 39 drive links, with Lubri-Tec oiling.
Pros
- Oregon brand with Lubri-Tec oiling stated
- Low-kickback, low-vibration stated
- Heat-treated semi-chisel stated
- Fits Atlas, Makita, Poulan, Echo and more
Cons
- Single chain, not a multi-pack
- Warranty stated with no term
- 39 drive links, check the bar
- 1.76 oz stated weight
More options to compare
4 Pack 8 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .043" Gauge 33Check price on Amazon
8Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .050" Gauge 33 Drive LinksCheck price on Amazon
3 Pack 12 Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" LP Pitch .043" Gauge 44Check price on Amazon
KAKEI 12 Inch Chainsaw Chain fits Stihl 1/4" LP Pitch .043"Check price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Woodlot Score | Length | Pitch / Gauge / DL | Pack | Standard (stated) | Warranty (stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KAKEI 8 in 34DL 3-pack | 9.6/10 | 8 in | 3/8 LP / .043 / 34 | 3 | ANSI B175.1, CSA Z62.3 | Not stated |
| SawWorks 8 in 34DL 3-pack | 9.6/10 | 8 in | 3/8 LP / .043 / 34 | 3 | ANSI B175.1, CSA Z62.3 | Not stated |
| JINFFR 10 in 40DL 5-pack | 9.5/10 | 10 in | 3/8 LP / .043 / 40 | 5 | Low kickback ANSI | Not stated |
| Savior 10 in 40DL 3-pack | 9.5/10 | 10 in | 3/8 LP / .050 / 40 | 3 | Low-kickback stated | Not stated |
| Oregon S39 10 in chain | 9.5/10 | 10 in | 3/8 LP / .050 / 39 | 1 | Low-kickback stated | Warranty (no term) |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 20 October 2026. All five state low kickback; none states a warranty term.
How we scored them
Each chain is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Safety reflects the stated kickback standard. The weights are on our How We Pick page.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KAKEI 8 in 34DL 3-pack | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| SawWorks 8 in 34DL 3-pack | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| JINFFR 10 in 40DL 5-pack | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| Savior 10 in 40DL 3-pack | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 4 | 0 |
| Oregon S39 10 in chain | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 18 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Buying guide: choosing the best pole saw chain under 20
Match pitch, gauge, length and drive links
Four numbers must match the bar: pitch, gauge, length and drive link count. Here that means 3/8 in LP pitch across the board, .043 or .050 in gauge, 8 or 10 in length, and 34, 39 or 40 drive links. The KAKEI, SawWorks and JINFFR listings all advise checking the owner’s manual or the guide bar side stamp for these four numbers before ordering. The Oregon’s 39 drive links are the odd one out against the 40-link 10-inch bars, so check the stamp twice there.
Kickback standards stated
The KAKEI and SawWorks state the most: kickback performance requirements of ANSI B175.1-2012 and CSA Z62.3. The JINFFR states low kickback ANSI standards. The Savior and Oregon state low kickback without a standard number. Stated compliance is checkable; a bare low-kickback claim is not. All five are semi-chisel, which the listings frame as the forgiving cutter choice.
3-pack, 5-pack or single
Pack counts here are 3, 3, 5, 3 and 1. A multi-pack means a fresh chain is always on hand when the working chain dulls mid-job, and at this price the per-chain cost of a 5-pack is the value play. The Oregon single is the brand-name exception: one chain, but with the Lubri-Tec oiling feature none of the multi-packs state.
Fit lists
The JINFFR names the most saws: Worx, EGO, Milwaukee, Ryobi, Husqvarna and Craftsman models. The Savior covers WORX, Sun Joe, Remington, WEN, Makita, Husqvarna, Greenworks and Troy-Bilt. The KAKEI and SawWorks focus on DeWalt and Craftsman. The Oregon names Atlas, Makita, Poulan, Echo and Ridgeline. Buy for the saw you own, not the longest list.
Steel, chrome and oil
The KAKEI, SawWorks and JINFFR all state German steel with Japanese chrome-plated cutters and protective oil against corrosion; the SawWorks adds hardened rivets stated to reduce chain tension changes. The Oregon states heat-treated semi-chisel cutters with a chrome outer layer and its Lubri-Tec automatic oiling system. These are maker-stated build claims, reported as stated.
Semi-chisel across the board
All five chains are semi-chisel, the cutter shape the listings frame as forgiving and tolerant of debris. None of the five offers a full-chisel option, which suits this price band: semi-chisel stays sharper longer in dirty wood and is easier to file. The Oregon adds heat treatment stated to raise the cutters’ tolerance for debris, and the KAKEI and SawWorks state hardened and quenched rivets that resist wear and reduce chain tension changes.
Protective oil and storage
The KAKEI, SawWorks and JINFFR listings all state the chains ship with protective oil against corrosion. The Savior adds 3 storage bags to the box, the most complete storage story here. Chains rust fast in a damp shed, so keep the spares oiled and bagged; the multi-packs make that easy since the working chain and the spares travel together.
Gloves in the box: read the warning
The Savior is the only pick that includes gloves, and its listing carries an explicit warning in capitals: not anti-cut. That honesty is worth noting because chain changes are exactly when hands meet sharp cutters. Treat the included gloves as handling gloves and wear proper cut-resistant gloves for the job; the listing does not claim more.
Gauge: .043 vs .050
Gauge is the drive link thickness that must match the bar groove. The KAKEI, SawWorks and JINFFR are .043 in; the Savior and Oregon are .050 in. A .043 chain will not run right in a .050 bar and vice versa, so gauge is a hard filter, not a preference. The spec tables state the gauge plainly on every pick, which is more than can be said for some chain listings.
Why the Oregon scores lower
The Oregon S39 is the best-known brand here but scores lowest, and the reason is arithmetic, not reputation. It is a single chain against 3 and 5-packs, its warranty description states only the word Warranty with no term, and its 39 drive links fit fewer bars than the standard 40. The Lubri-Tec oiling and low-vibration statements are genuine pluses, but they do not outweigh a single chain at the same money.
When to replace the chain
The listings do not state replacement intervals, so go by the cut: when the saw needs pressure to feed, throws dust instead of chips, or pulls to one side, the chain is done. With a 3 or 5-pack on the shelf, swapping is faster than filing in the field, and the fresh chain’s stated chrome plating and protective oil start the clock over. Keep the old chain as the emergency spare once it is sharpened.
What the listings leave out
No listing states a warranty term: the Oregon table says only Warranty, and the rest say nothing. The Savior box includes gloves with the listing’s own warning that they are not anti-cut, so do not treat them as safety gear. The KAKEI and SawWorks listings are near-identical in spec and wording, which is common for chains from the same supply chain.
Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Around the Woodpile
- Check pitch, gauge, length and drive links on the bar stamp before ordering; the Oregon’s 39 links differ from the 40-link norm here.
- Keep a spare chain from the multi-pack oiled and ready; a dull chain is when accidents start.
- The Savior gloves are stated not anti-cut; wear proper cut-resistant gloves for chain changes.
- Tension a new chain after the first cuts; new chains stretch as they seat.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I know which chain fits my pole saw?
Match the four numbers on the guide bar stamp or in the manual: pitch, gauge, length and drive link count. Here that is 3/8 in LP pitch, .043 or .050 in gauge, 8 or 10 in, and 34, 39 or 40 links.
What is the difference between 34 and 40 drive links?
Drive link count sets the chain length for the bar. The 8-inch bars here take 34 links; the 10-inch bars take 40, except the Oregon at 39. The count must match the bar exactly.
Are these chains low kickback?
All five state low kickback. The KAKEI and SawWorks state ANSI B175.1-2012 and CSA Z62.3 compliance; the others state it without a standard number.
Can I use a 40-link chain on a 39-link bar?
No. The drive link count must match the bar. A 40-link chain will not fit a 39-link bar correctly, so check the stamp before ordering.
Do any of these state a warranty?
No. None of the five listings states a warranty term, so all five score zero on warranty.
Related guides
See the best chainsaw chain for green wood, low profile vs standard chainsaw chain and best pole saw for fruit trees. For the saws, see Ego vs Greenworks pole saw.



