Best Fireplace Insert for a Cabin (2026): 5 Compared
Electric fireplace inserts for a cabin compared by size, stated heat output, coverage, safety features and warranty terms.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallDimplex RLG25 25in9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best SafetyInnoflame 26in Insert9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best LargeElectactic 36in Insert9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Brick LookLegendFlame Damon 35in9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
HP22i Pellet Stove Fireplace InsertView on Amazon - 6
VEVOR Electric Fireplace InsertView on Amazon - 7
PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert with FireView on Amazon - 8
Electactic 60 Inch Electric Fireplace Insert Ultra-ThinView on Amazon - 9
PuraFlame Klaus 33" Electric Fireplace Insert 750/1500W heaterView on Amazon
Winter weekends at a cabin call for a warm room without a chimney project, and an electric insert answers that need with plug-in heat and a flame view. This guide to best fireplace insert for a cabin compares electric inserts by size, stated heat output, coverage, safety features and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Dimplex RLG25 25in: Heats up to 1000 sq ft with a 2-year parts warranty Check price on Amazon
- Best Safety Innoflame 26in Insert: CSA/UL certified with overheat protection and cool glass Check price on Amazon
- Best Large Electactic 36in Insert: 36 inch linear insert with 12 flame colors and a timer Check price on Amazon
- Best Brick Look LegendFlame Damon 35in: Glass door, mesh screen, brick interior, crackling sound Check price on Amazon
The picks

Dimplex Revillusion Electric Fireplace Log Insert
A 25 inch electric log insert with faux logs and a glowing ash mat, a remote, and supplemental zone heat for up to 1000 sq ft.
Pros
- Heats up to 1000 sq ft, the largest stated coverage here
- 2-year parts and 1-year service limited warranty stated
- Log set and glowing ash mat included
- Automatic shut-off stated
Cons
- Stated dimensions differ within the listing
- No safety certification stated in the listing
- No flame color options stated
- No timer stated in the listing

26" Electric Fireplace Insert
A 26 inch electric insert with a log set, 4 flame brightness settings, a remote, a timer range of 1 to 8 hours and CSA/UL certification.
Pros
- CSA/UL certified
- Overheat protection switch and front glass stated as cool to touch
- 5000 BTU for spaces up to 400 sq ft
- Thermostat stated as 64 to 82 degrees
Cons
- Warranty stated as 1 year only
- 1400W, lower than the 1500W settings on other picks
- Fits furniture openings of the stated size only
- No flame color options stated

Tangkula 26" Electric Fireplace Insert
A 26 inch curved glass electric insert with 3 flame colors, 6 brightness levels, a remote and ETL certification.
Pros
- ETL certified with overheat protection
- 5000 BTU for spaces up to 400 sq ft
- Thermostat stated as 62 to 82 degrees
- Remote works up to 20 ft away
Cons
- Unit width and opening width do not line up in the listing
- No warranty term stated in the listing
- Title size of 26 inches differs from the listed unit width of 27.4 inches
- Heaviest stated weight among the picks at 31 pounds

LegendFlame® Damon 35" W Electric Fireplace Insert
A 35 inch electric insert with a glass door, mesh screen, brick interior, crackling sound and a remote.
Pros
- Glass door and mesh screen included
- Three-sided brick interior with a resin log
- 4 brightness settings, 5 speed settings and 9 mood light settings
- CSA Certified
Cons
- Stated width differs within the listing
- No weight stated in the listing
- Stated as supplemental heat only, not a main heat source
- Warranty stated as one year only

Electactic 36 Inch Electric Fireplace Insert
A 36 inch ultra-thin linear electric insert with 12 flame colors, 12 bed colors, a remote and a touchscreen.
Pros
- 36 inch linear size, the largest stated size here
- 12 flame colors and 12 bed colors
- 5100 BTU for spaces up to 400 sq ft
- 45 dB operation with a sleep mode and a timer of 1 to 8 hours
Cons
- No concrete warranty term stated, only a limited warranty type
- Overheat protection stated, but no certification stated
- No thermostat temperature range stated
- Included components list only a log and a remote
More options to compare
HP22i Pellet Stove Fireplace InsertCheck price on Amazon
VEVOR Electric Fireplace InsertCheck price on Amazon
PuraFlame Western Electric Fireplace Insert with FireCheck price on Amazon
Electactic 60 Inch Electric Fireplace Insert Ultra-ThinCheck price on Amazon
PuraFlame Klaus 33" Electric Fireplace Insert 750/1500W heaterCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Insert | Woodlot Score | Size | Heat | Coverage | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dimplex RLG25 25in | 9.6/10 | 25 inches | 5118 BTU | 1000 sq ft | 2-year parts and 1-year service |
| Innoflame 26in Insert | 9.6/10 | 26 inches | 5000 BTU | 400 sq ft | 1 year |
| Tangkula 26in Insert | 9.6/10 | 26 inches | 5000 BTU | 400 sq ft | Not stated |
| LegendFlame Damon 35in | 9.5/10 | 35 inches | 1500 watts | 400 sq ft | One year |
| Electactic 36in Insert | 9.5/10 | 36 inches | 5100 BTU | 400 sq ft | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 25 October 2026. Weights are as listed.
25 October 2026
How we scored them
Each insert is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Safety here means stated certifications, overheat protection, automatic shut-off and cool-to-touch glass. The weights are on our How We Pick page.
| Product | Woodlot Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dimplex RLG25 25in | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 3 | 3 |
| Innoflame 26in Insert | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 2 |
| Tangkula 26in Insert | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| LegendFlame Damon 35in | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Electactic 36in Insert | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 3 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Install stoves and inserts to the manufacturer's instructions and your local code, usually by a certified installer with a permit and inspection. Keep the listed clearances to combustibles, run working smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, have the chimney inspected and cleaned every year to prevent creosote fires, burn only seasoned wood, and check local burn rules. See EPA Burn Wise, NFPA heating safety, CPSC carbon monoxide guidance and the Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA). Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Buying guide: choosing the best fireplace insert for a cabin
Size and fit: match the opening
Size is the first filter, because an insert must fit the opening it goes into. The picks span 25 inches to 36 inches in stated size, and some listings also give opening dimensions. The Tangkula listing states a unit width of 27.4 inches and an opening width of 24.6 inches, which do not line up, so that pick needs a careful check before buying. The Innoflame listing states an opening size of 26 3/16 inches wide by 17 3/16 inches high. Where a listing gives different dimensions for the same insert, both figures appear in that pick’s details.
Heat output and coverage
Heat output and coverage separate the picks more than size does. Each pick except Dimplex states coverage of 400 sq ft, while the Dimplex pick states coverage of up to 1000 sq ft, the largest stated coverage here. Heat settings are 750W and 1500W on the Electactic, Tangkula and LegendFlame picks, and 1400W on the Innoflame pick, with stated outputs of 5100 BTU, 5000 BTU and 5000 BTU on the Electactic, Tangkula and Innoflame picks. Thermostat ranges are stated as 62 to 82 degrees on the Tangkula pick and 64 to 82 degrees on the Innoflame pick. The Dimplex pick is framed as supplemental zone heat and the LegendFlame pick states it cannot be used as a main heat source, so these inserts suit a cabin room rather than whole-cabin heating on their own.
Flame look and controls
Flame look ranges from a simple log set to a full color show. The Electactic pick states 12 flame colors and 12 bed colors, the Tangkula pick states 3 flame colors with 6 brightness levels, the LegendFlame pick states 4 brightness settings, 5 speed settings and 9 mood light settings, and the Innoflame pick states 4 flame brightness settings. The Dimplex pick takes a different route, with faux logs and a glowing ash mat rather than color choices. Every pick states a remote control, and the Electactic pick adds a touchscreen panel. Timers are stated as 1 to 8 hours on the Electactic pick, 6 hours on the Tangkula pick, and 1 to 8 hours on the Innoflame pick.
Safety features and certifications
Safety features are stated unevenly, so they belong in the comparison. The Tangkula pick is ETL certified with overheat protection, the LegendFlame pick is CSA Certified, and the Innoflame pick is CSA/UL certified with an overheat protection switch and front glass stated as cool to touch. The Electactic pick states overheat protection with no certification, and the Dimplex pick states an automatic shut-off with no certification. A cabin insert that runs while the household sleeps deserves the stated protections checked first, and the picks with a stated certification and overheat protection lead on this measure. See electric vs wood fireplace insert for how electric inserts differ from wood-burning ones.
Around the Woodpile
- Match the insert to the opening using the stated unit dimensions, not the title size alone, since the Tangkula and LegendFlame listings give figures that differ from their titles.
- Run the flame without heat where the listing states it, as the Tangkula pick does, for evening atmosphere without added warmth.
- Keep the remote with the insert, since every pick here states a remote control for heat and flame settings.
- Treat these inserts as supplemental heat where the listings state it, as the Dimplex and LegendFlame picks do, rather than as a whole-cabin heater.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can an electric fireplace insert heat a cabin?
As supplemental heat for a room, yes, within the stated coverage. Each pick except Dimplex states coverage of 400 sq ft, and the Dimplex pick states up to 1000 sq ft, while the LegendFlame pick states it cannot be used as a main heat source.
What size insert fits a cabin fireplace opening?
Match the stated unit dimensions to the opening, not the title size alone. The picks span 25 inches to 36 inches in stated size, and the Tangkula and Innoflame listings state opening dimensions to check against.
Do electric inserts need a chimney?
No. All listings state vent free operation with corded electric power, so no chimney or venting is stated as needed.
Which insert has a warranty?
The Dimplex pick states a 2-year parts and 1-year service limited warranty, the LegendFlame pick states one year, and the Innoflame pick states 1 year. The Electactic listing states only a limited warranty type with no term, and the Tangkula listing states no warranty term.
Can the flame run without heat?
The Tangkula listing states the flame can be used without heat. The Dimplex listing states its heat can be used regardless of the flames. The other listings do not state flame-without-heat operation.
Related guides
See the electric vs wood fireplace insert, the best fireplace insert for a corner fireplace, the best hearth rug for a wood insert and the wood stoves guides.




