Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Chainsaw Chain for Elm Firewood (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five chainsaw chains for elm firewood compared by bar length, pitch, gauge, drive links, chisel type and stated warranty, from a 28 in full chisel 3-pack to an OEM pruner chain.

Best Chainsaw Chain for Elm Firewood (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 18TEN Full Chisel 28 inBest Overall8TEN Full Chisel 28 in9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Husqvarna S83G 24 inBest Semi-ChiselHusqvarna S83G 24 in9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Chinshwehaw 20 in ChainBest for Named HardwoodsChinshwehaw 20 in Chain9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4STIHL 33RS72 20 inBest 20 in Full ChiselSTIHL 33RS72 20 in9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5KAKEI 36 Inch Chainsaw Ripping Chain 3/8" Pitch .063" GaugeKAKEI 36 Inch Chainsaw Ripping Chain 3/8" Pitch .063" GaugeView on Amazon
  6. 62 Pack EGO 18 Inch Chainsaw Chain2 Pack EGO 18 Inch Chainsaw ChainView on Amazon
  7. 73 Pack Milwaukee Pole Saw Chain 10 Inch for M18 2825-203 Pack Milwaukee Pole Saw Chain 10 Inch for M18 2825-20View on Amazon
  8. 8Husqvarna Chainsaw Chain 18-Inch .050 Gauge .325 Pitch LowHusqvarna Chainsaw Chain 18-Inch .050 Gauge .325 Pitch LowView on Amazon
  9. 94 Pack 20 Inch Chainsaw Chain4 Pack 20 Inch Chainsaw ChainView on Amazon

Fall is when the woodpile gets honest, and the best chainsaw chain for elm firewood is the one that matches your bar and saw. The rounds you bucked in spring are stacked, the stove is waiting, and the chain on the saw decides whether cutting stays pleasant or turns into a long afternoon of pushing on a dull cutter. This guide compares five replacement chains on what their listings state: bar length, pitch, gauge, drive links, chisel type and fitment.

One honest note up front: none of these listings names elm. The Chinshwehaw names oak, maple and hickory, and the rest name saws, not species. So the real work here is matching the chain to your bar and saw: the wrong pitch, gauge or drive link count will not run, no matter how good the chain is.

The five chains here cover the common setups: a 28 in full chisel 3-pack, a 24 in OEM semi-chisel, two 20 in chains in different chisel types, and an OEM chain for the GTA 26. Three listings name the saws they fit; the other two leave fitment to the numbers.

FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall 8TEN Full Chisel 28 in: Full chisel 28 in chain in a 3 pack with a stated 810-day warranty and a safety bumper link. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Semi-Chisel Husqvarna S83G 24 in: OEM Husqvarna semi-chisel for the 455 and 460 Rancher, stated 24 in with 84 drive links. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Named Hardwoods Chinshwehaw 20 in Chain: The listing names oak, maple and hickory, with 62-65 HRC steel per the maker. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 20 in Full Chisel STIHL 33RS72 20 in: Stihl Rapid Super full chisel, 3/8 in pitch and 0.050 in gauge for 20 in bars. Check price on Amazon

The picks

8TEN Full Chisel Chainsaw Chain 28" Bar .058 Gauge

8TEN Full Chisel Chainsaw Chain 28" Bar .058 Gauge

8TEN9.6/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A full chisel chain for a 28 in bar with 3/8 in pitch, .058 in gauge and 92 drive links, sold as a 3 pack for the McCulloch Pro Mac 800. The listing states a safety bumper link and an 810-day limited warranty. The box holds three chains at a stated 2.4 lb.

Pros

  • Full chisel cutters with 92 drive links for a 28 in bar
  • 3 pack: three chains in the box
  • 810-day limited warranty stated
  • Safety bumper link included

Cons

  • Named fitment is only the McCulloch Pro Mac 800; verify yours
  • Chain steel stated two ways in the listing (68CrNiMo33 in bullets, 51CrV4 in the spec table)
  • .058 gauge only; no other gauge stated
  • A 28 in chain suits bigger saws; confirm your bar length first
Husqvarna S83G 24 Chainsaw chain, 3/8'' Pitch

Husqvarna S83G 24 Chainsaw chain, 3/8'' Pitch

Husqvarna9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OEM Husqvarna semi-chisel chain for a 24 in bar with 3/8 in pitch, .050 in gauge and 84 drive links, for the 455 and 460 Rancher. The listing describes it as less sensitive to dirt and easy to file, and says the chain is designed and built next to Husqvarna chainsaws.

Pros

  • OEM chain for the Husqvarna 455 and 460 Rancher
  • Semi-chisel: less sensitive to dirt and easy to file per the listing
  • 84 drive links, 3/8 in pitch and .050 in gauge all stated
  • 14.24 oz stated weight

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table pitch of 0.04 in conflicts with the 3/8 in in the title and bullets
  • Single chain; no multi-pack stated
  • No safety features stated
20-Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" Pitch .050 Gauge 76DL

20-Inch Chainsaw Chain 3/8" Pitch .050 Gauge 76DL

Chinshwehaw9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A semi-chisel 20 in chain with 3/8 in pitch, .050 in gauge and 76 drive links, with fitment stated for the Stihl MS250, Husqvarna 455 and Echo CS-590. The listing names oak, maple and hickory and claims 62-65 HRC hardened steel, self-lubricating rivets and pre-stretched links.

Pros

  • Names oak, maple and hickory in the listing
  • Fitment stated for the Stihl MS250, Husqvarna 455 and Echo CS-590
  • 76 drive links, 3/8 in pitch and .050 in gauge stated
  • Low-vibration design that reduces kickback per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Lifespan claims (3X, 5X, 30% faster) are maker claims, not checkable specs
  • The guide bar note in the listing reads 55cm/7cm, which is confusing
  • Unknown brand against the OEM options here
STIHL 33RS72 Rapid Super Chainsaw Chain

STIHL 33RS72 Rapid Super Chainsaw Chain

Stihl9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Stihl's Rapid Super full chisel chain for 20 in bars with 3/8 in pitch, 0.050 in gauge and 72 drive links. A short listing: four bullets covering pitch, gauge, bar length and drive links, and no warranty term.

Pros

  • OEM Stihl Rapid Super full chisel
  • 3/8 in pitch, 0.050 in gauge and 72 drive links stated
  • Fits 20 in guide bars per the listing
  • Simple, checkable spec listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Thin listing: only four bullets
  • No safety features stated
  • Single chain; no multi-pack stated
STIHL GTA 26 Chain 71 PM3 28 3670-000-0028 OEM

STIHL GTA 26 Chain 71 PM3 28 3670-000-0028 OEM

Stihl9.2/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An OEM Stihl chain for the GTA 26, designated 71 PM3 28 with 28 drive links. The listing is the thinnest here: title and one bullet stating OEM genuineness, with no pitch or gauge stated.

Pros

  • OEM genuine Stihl chain
  • Chain designation 71 PM3 28 and 28 drive links stated
  • Full chisel per the spec table
  • Made for the GTA 26

Cons

  • No pitch or gauge stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists 28 inches for chain length, which reads as the drive link count
  • No safety features stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Woodlot Score Bar length Pitch Gauge Drive links Chisel Warranty (stated)
8TEN Full Chisel 28 in 9.6/10 28 in 3/8 in .058 in 92 Full chisel 810 days
Husqvarna S83G 24 in 9.5/10 24 in 3/8 in .050 in 84 Semi-chisel Not stated
Chinshwehaw 20 in Chain 9.4/10 20 in 3/8 in .050 in 76 Semi-chisel Not stated
STIHL 33RS72 20 in 9.4/10 20 in 3/8 in .050 in 72 Full chisel Not stated
STIHL GTA 26 Chain 9.2/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated 28 Full chisel Not stated

Figures are as each listing states, collected 22 October 2026. Only one of these listings states a warranty term, and two state safety-relevant features. Where a listing leaves a figure out, the table says so rather than guessing.

How we scored them

Each chain is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page. The 8TEN leads on the 3-pack, the stated warranty and the full spec listing; the Husqvarna follows as the OEM semi-chisel; the Chinshwehaw, Stihl 33RS72 and GTA 26 trail on thinner listings and missing terms. The 8TEN’s 810-day warranty is the only concrete warranty term stated, which is why it takes the warranty points alone. The Chinshwehaw’s kickback claim and the 8TEN’s bumper link are the only safety features stated, so the other three score zero on safety.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
8TEN Full Chisel 28 in 9.6 30 20 21 3 2
Husqvarna S83G 24 in 9.5 30 21 20 0 0
Chinshwehaw 20 in Chain 9.4 28 18 19 3 0
STIHL 33RS72 20 in 9.4 30 20 19 0 0
STIHL GTA 26 Chain 9.2 21 19 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Buying guide: best chainsaw chain for elm firewood

Match the chain to your bar and saw

Three numbers have to match: pitch, gauge and drive link count. The chains here run 3/8 in pitch across the board, gauges of .058 and .050, and drive link counts from 28 to 92. A chain that matches two of the three still will not run right, so read your bar’s markings or the old chain before ordering. Bar length sets the drive link count on these listings: 28 in bars take 92 links, 24 in bars take 84, and 20 in bars take 72 or 76 depending on the chain. Count your old chain’s drive links if the number is worn off the bar. The 8TEN’s .058 gauge stands apart from the .050 gauge on the Husqvarna, Stihl 33RS72 and Chinshwehaw; the GTA 26 states no gauge. A gauge mismatch means the chain will not sit right in the bar groove, so do not substitute across gauges.

Full chisel vs semi-chisel

Full chisel and semi-chisel are the two cutter shapes here. The Husqvarna listing describes its semi-chisel chain as less sensitive to dirt, easy to file, and staying sharper longer. The 8TEN, Stihl 33RS72 and GTA 26 list full chisel; the Husqvarna and Chinshwehaw list semi-chisel. For dirty bark or wood that has sat on the ground, the listing’s description favors semi-chisel. The Chinshwehaw listing claims low vibration and reduced kickback for its semi-chisel, while the 8TEN answers with a stated safety bumper link on its full chisel; those are the only two safety-relevant features stated anywhere here.

Fitment: verify before you buy

Three listings name the saws they fit: the 8TEN names the McCulloch Pro Mac 800 and asks you to verify fitment, the Husqvarna names the 455 and 460 Rancher, and the Chinshwehaw names the Stihl MS250, Husqvarna 455 and Echo CS-590. The Stihl 33RS72 says only 20 in guide bars, and the GTA 26 says only the GTA 26. Where the listing names your saw, you are set; where it does not, match the three numbers yourself. The 8TEN’s please-verify-fitment note is worth heeding, since its named fitment is only the McCulloch Pro Mac 800. The Stihl 33RS72’s fits-chainsaws-with-20-inch-guide-bar line is the broadest fitment claim here, but it still leaves gauge and drive links to you.

Reading a chain designation

The Stihl listings show how designations work: 33RS72 names the chain type and the 72 drive links, and 71 PM3 28 names the type and 28 drive links. The 8TEN’s 810-CCC2351H and the Husqvarna’s 529475084 are part numbers rather than descriptions; use the pitch, gauge and drive link figures beside them.

What the listings do not state

None of these listings states a chain brake or a low-kickback chain; the 8TEN states a safety bumper link and the Chinshwehaw claims a low-vibration design that reduces kickback, and those earn the only safety points here. Only the 8TEN states a warranty term. The Stihl 33RS72 and GTA 26 listings are the thinnest, with no warranty and no safety features stated. Where the listing is silent, the score reflects the gap rather than guessing. The Chinshwehaw’s 62-65 HRC hardness claim is the only hardness figure stated anywhere here.

Firewood safety

Wear eye protection and gloves for cutting, splitting and handling, follow every tool's manual, install stoves to code, and have the chimney inspected and cleaned every year. See EPA Burn Wise and NFPA heating safety. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does 3/8 in pitch mean, and can I use any 3/8 in chain?

Pitch is the spacing the listing uses to describe the chain: every chain here lists 3/8 in pitch. But pitch is only one of three numbers that must match: pitch, gauge and drive link count. A 3/8 in pitch chain in .058 gauge will not run on a .050 bar, and the wrong drive link count will not fit the bar at all. Match all three to your bar.

How do I know how many drive links I need?

Count the drive links on your old chain, or read the number off the bar. The chains here state 92, 84, 76, 72 and 28 drive links. If the bar markings are worn off, counting is the reliable way.

Full chisel or semi-chisel for firewood?

The listings here offer both: full chisel on the 8TEN, Stihl 33RS72 and GTA 26, semi-chisel on the Husqvarna and Chinshwehaw. The Husqvarna listing describes semi-chisel as less sensitive to dirt and easier to file, which suits wood that has sat on the ground.

Is there a chain made for elm?

None of these listings names elm. The Chinshwehaw names oak, maple and hickory; the rest name saws. Buy on fitment and cutter type, not on a species match the listing does not claim.

Do these chains fit my chainsaw?

Three listings name saws: the 8TEN for the McCulloch Pro Mac 800, the Husqvarna for the 455 and 460 Rancher, and the Chinshwehaw for the Stihl MS250, Husqvarna 455 and Echo CS-590. For the others, match pitch, gauge and drive links to your bar.

How long does a chainsaw chain last?

The listings do not state a service life. The Husqvarna listing says its semi-chisel stays sharper longer, and the Chinshwehaw claims 3X longer lifespan and 5X longer sharpness than standard chains; both are maker descriptions, not measured figures. How long a chain lasts depends on what you cut and how you maintain it.

See Oregon vs Stihl chainsaw chain and Rapid Micro vs Rapid Super chain for chain comparisons, best chainsaw for green wood for the saw side, and safety glasses vs goggles for chainsaw use for eye protection.

More buying guides

Chainsaw Gear ·

Best Chainsaw Helmet for Women (2026): 5 Picks

Five chainsaw helmet systems compared on stated fit range, certifications, ear and eye protection, weight and warranty, from ANSI-certified picks to Bluetooth.