Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

18v vs 40v Pole Saw: Which One Should You Buy?

An 18v pole saw and two 40v pole saws compared on bar, reach, weight, battery and warranty, with a verdict on which side fits which yard job.

18v vs 40v Pole Saw: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1SEESII Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch BrushlessSEESII Mini Chainsaw 6 Inch Brushless9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Greenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw Hedge Trimmer KitGreenworks 40V 8 in Pole Saw Hedge Trimmer Kit9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Makita XUX02SM1X4 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless CordlessMakita XUX02SM1X4 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Greenworks 8-Inch 40V Pole Saw Attachment PS40A00Greenworks 8-Inch 40V Pole Saw Attachment PS40A00View on Amazon
  5. 5DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawDEWALT 20V MAX* XR Pole SawView on Amazon
  6. 6Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1Supstable Cordless Pole Saw & Hedge Trimmer 6-in-1View on Amazon
  7. 7EGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOEGO PSA1020 10-Inch Carbon Fiber Pole Saw Attachment for EGOView on Amazon
  8. 8WEN 4019 6-Amp 8-Inch Electric Telescoping Pole SawWEN 4019 6-Amp 8-Inch Electric Telescoping Pole SawView on Amazon
  9. 9Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableScotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with AdjustableView on Amazon

Verdict: Choose an 18v pole saw if you already own 18v batteries and want the example with the lowest weight here with a stated warranty. Choose a 40v pole saw if you want a battery and charger included, as the Wild Badger example states, or a saw and hedge trimmer combo, as the Greenworks example states.

Fall prep brings the same job every year: branches over the drive, limbs brushing the roof line, and storm wood to clear before winter. This comparison looks at 18v vs 40v pole saw options through three listings, one 18v example and two 40v examples, and keeps every figure tied to the listing that states it.

FirewoodGearHQ may earn a small commission if you buy through links on this page. The price you pay stays the same. Affiliate disclosure.

Ecarke Electric Pole Saw Compatible with Milwaukee

Ecarke Electric Pole Saw Compatible with Milwaukee

Ecarke9.5/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18V cordless pole saw with an 8 in bar, a pole that adjusts from 7 to 10 feet, automatic oiling and a full accessory kit, for Milwaukee 18V battery owners.

Pros

  • 8 in bar with a 26ft/s cutting speed stated
  • Pole adjusts from 7 to 10 feet, total reach up to 16FT
  • Automatic oiling with a transparent reservoir
  • Kit includes a spare chain, bar cover, shoulder strap, goggles and gloves

Cons

  • Tool only: no battery included, despite a ready to work claim in the listing
  • No hedge trimmer attachment is included
  • Weight of the full pole assembly at full extension is not stated
  • No chain brake or low-kickback chain is stated
WILD BADGER POWER Pole Saw Cordless 40V 8''

WILD BADGER POWER Pole Saw Cordless 40V 8''

Wild Badger Power9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40V cordless pole saw with an 8 in bar, a detachable pole, a 40V 2.0Ah battery and charger included, and auto-lubrication for yard trimming.

Pros

  • 40V 2.0Ah battery and fast charger included
  • 8 in bar with a stated 21000 rpm
  • Shaft to 9.18 FT, max reach 12.5FT
  • Auto-lubrication with tool-free tension adjustment

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated, only a limited warranty type
  • The 21000 rpm figure is a motor speed, not a chain speed comparable with the 26ft/s figure on the 18v example
  • No hedge trimmer attachment is included
  • No chain brake or low-kickback chain is stated
Greenworks 40V 10 in Pole Saw, Hedge Trimmer Kit

Greenworks 40V 10 in Pole Saw, Hedge Trimmer Kit

Greenworks9.4/10 Woodlot Score
i
The Woodlot Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40V pole saw and hedge trimmer combo kit with a 10 in bar, a 20 in hedge blade, a 7-position pivoting head and automatic oiling for pruning and trimming.

Pros

  • 10 in bar, longer than the 8 in bars on the other examples
  • Combo includes a pole hedge trimmer with a 20 in blade
  • 7-position pivoting head for trimming at multiple angles
  • Automatic oiler with easy adjust tensioning

Cons

  • Battery inclusion is unclear: title says Tool Only, spec table lists a battery
  • No reach figure is stated
  • No cutting speed figure is stated
  • No warranty term is stated

More options to compare

Side by side

Factor Ecarke 18v Wild Badger 40v Greenworks 40v
Voltage 18V 40V 40V
Bar 8 in 8 in 10 in
Reach Pole 7 to 10 feet, total reach up to 16FT Shaft to 9.18 FT, max reach 12.5FT Not stated
Weight 6.8 pounds 9 pounds 17.2 pounds
Battery Tool only, battery not included 40V 2.0Ah battery and charger included Unclear: title says Tool Only, spec table lists a battery
Cutting speed 26ft/s 21000 rpm Not stated
Oiling Automatic oiling, transparent reservoir Auto-lubrication, tool-free tension Automatic oiler, easy adjust tensioning
Warranty 2-year limited replacement commitment Limited warranty, no term stated Not stated

Figures are per listing and manufacturer rated, collected 25 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, both figures are shown.

18v vs 40v pole saw: bar and reach

Bar length across the examples runs from 8 in to 10 in: the Ecarke 18v example and the Wild Badger 40v example both list an 8 in bar, while the Greenworks 40v example lists a 10 in bar, plus a 20 in hedge trimmer blade as part of its combo. A longer bar does not by itself settle the comparison, since the Greenworks listing states no reach figure and no cutting speed, so the bar advantage stays a bar figure only. Reach separates the two examples that state it: the Ecarke pole adjusts from 7 to 10 feet, with a total reach of up to 16FT, while the Wild Badger shaft extends to 9.18 FT, with a max reach of 12.5FT. The Greenworks listing states no reach figure, so its reach stays unclear rather than a win for either side.

Battery, weight and what is included

Battery inclusion is the clearest practical split. The Ecarke example is tool only, with no battery included, so it suits a yard that already runs Milwaukee 18V batteries. The Wild Badger example includes a 40V 2.0Ah battery and a fast charger, so the kit is complete on arrival. The Greenworks listing contradicts itself here: the title says Tool Only, while the spec table lists a battery and a charger, so battery inclusion for that example stays unclear and the listing should be checked before ordering. Weight differs across the examples: the Ecarke example lists 6.8 pounds, the Wild Badger example lists 9 pounds, and the Greenworks example lists 17.2 pounds for its combo kit listing.

Cutting speed and upkeep

Cutting speed cannot be compared directly here: the Ecarke example lists a 26ft/s chain speed, the Wild Badger example lists a 21000 rpm motor speed figure rather than a chain speed, and the Greenworks example states no speed figure. All three listings describe automatic oiling in some form: the Ecarke example lists an automatic oiling system with a transparent reservoir, the Wild Badger example lists auto-lubrication with tool-free tension adjustment, and the Greenworks example lists an automatic oiler with easy adjust tensioning. Warranty also splits the set: the Ecarke example states a 2-year limited replacement commitment, the Wild Badger listing states a limited warranty with no term, and the Greenworks listing states no warranty term.

The examples

How we scored them

Each example is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. No listing states a chain brake or a low-kickback chain, so all score zero on safety, and only the Ecarke listing states a warranty term.

Product Woodlot Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Ecarke 18V Pole Saw 9.5 28 20 21 0 3
Wild Badger 40V Saw 9.4 28 20 21 0 0
Greenworks 40V Combo 9.4 27 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Chainsaw safety

Wear cut-resistant chaps, a helmet with face screen and hearing protection, gloves and sturdy boots. Know where the kickback zone is (the upper tip of the bar), keep the chain brake working and the chain sharp, and never cut alone in the woods. Felling trees is hazardous work: hire a professional for large, leaning or storm-damaged trees, especially near buildings or power lines. See OSHA logging safety for chain saw operators. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Around the Woodpile

  • Wear chaps, a helmet with a face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots, and never cut alone.
  • Check the bar cover, spare chain and oil bottle in the Ecarke kit before the first job.
  • Store detachable pole sections and the spare chain where they stay dry and out of the way.
  • Keep the battery and charger from the Wild Badger example with the saw, so the kit stays together.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is an 18v or 40v pole saw better for pruning?

Neither side wins in general. The 18v example has the lowest weight here and states a warranty term, while the Wild Badger example includes a battery and charger and the Greenworks example is a saw and hedge trimmer combo, so the choice turns on the batteries already owned and the jobs planned.

How far can these pole saws reach?

The Ecarke example lists a total reach of up to 16FT, based on a 6-foot user, with a pole that adjusts from 7 to 10 feet. The Wild Badger example lists a shaft reach of up to 9.18 FT and a max reach of 12.5FT. The Greenworks example states no reach figure.

Do these pole saws come with a battery?

The Ecarke example is tool only, with no battery included. The Wild Badger example includes a 40V 2.0Ah battery and a fast charger. The Greenworks listing is unclear, since the title says Tool Only while the spec table lists a battery, so check that listing before ordering.

What safety gear should I wear with a pole saw?

Wear chaps, a helmet with a face screen and hearing protection, gloves and boots, watch for kickback, and never cut alone. Keep bystanders clear and check the chain tension and oiling before starting work.

See the best pole saw for tall trees, the best pole saw for trimming, the best bar oil for a pole saw, the cordless pole saw vs gas pole saw and the best battery chainsaw for homeowners.

More buying guides